heading

Having received more than 200 awards and recommendations from international hardware websites and magazines, Noctua’s flagship model NH-D15 has become a benchmark for elite-class dual tower coolers. The SE-AM4 version is a dedicated special edition for AMD’s AM4 (Ryzen) platform featuring the latest SecuFirm2™ mounting system for AM4. Topped off with two of the renowned quiet NF-A15 PWM 140mm fans, Noctua’s proven NT-H1 thermal compound and a full 6-year manufacturer’s warranty, the NH-D15 SE-AM4 forms a complete premium-quality solution that represents a deluxe choice for both overclockers and silent enthusiasts who strive to tune their AM4 systems to the max.
Please note that being a dedicated special edition for AM4, the NH-D15 SE-AM4 comes with AM4 mounting hardware only, and that for this cooler, Noctua cannot provide free mounting kits for other current sockets such as LGA115x or LGA2011. For the NH-D15 SE-AM4, these mounting kits can only be purchased in retail or online shops (NM-i115x for LGA115x and NM-I2011 for LGA2011). Future mounting upgrades will be provided free of charge as usual if technically possible.
Details
Award-winning NH-D15 cooler

Award-winning NH-D15 cooler

Tens of thousands of enthusiast users all over the world swear by the NH-D15’s quality and performance. Recommended by more than 200 international hardware websites and magazines, it is renowned for being one of the best high-end coolers on the market.
Dedicated special edition for AM4

Dedicated special edition for AM4

The NH-D15 SE-AM4 brings the NH-D15’s signature quiet cooling performance to AMD’s new AM4 platform. With its supreme capacity at extreme heat loads, it allows overclockers to push their AM4 systems to the limit and silent enthusiasts to run the fans at super-low speeds.
6 heatpipe dual tower design

6 heatpipe dual tower design

As compared to conventional single tower heatinks, the NH-D15's fine-tuned six heatpipe dual tower design provides more surface area, better heat-distribution and superior airflow efficiency in dual fan mode.
Widened fin stack and expanded heatpipe layout

Widened fin stack and expanded heatpipe layout

Compared to the NH-D14, the NH-D15's fin-stack has been widened from 140 to 150mm and its heatpipes are now spaced further apart, which allows for a more uniform heat distribution over a larger surface area and thus contributes to the NH-D15's superior efficiency.
High RAM compatibility in single fan mode

High RAM compatibility in single fan mode

Thanks to its recessed lower fins, the NH-D15 provides 64mm clearance for tall memory heatsinks in single fan mode, making it compatible with most high end RAM modules on the market. In dual fan mode, the NH-D15 should be used with standard height RAM (up to 32mm).*
Dual NF-A15 140mm fans

Dual NF-A15 140mm fans

The NH-D15 features two of Noctua's premium class NF-A15 140mm fans. Complying with Noctua's AAO standard and featuring sophisticated aerodynamic design measures such as Flow Acceleration Channels, the NF-A15 has quickly built up a reputation as one of the best 140mm fans on the market.
PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

The NF-A15 premium fans supplied with the NH-D15 support PWM for convenient automatic speed control through the mainboard. In addition, the maximum fan speed can be reduced from 1500 to 1200rpm using the supplied Low-Noise Adaptor for even quieter operation.
Excellent component cooling

Excellent component cooling

Extending below the fin-stacks, the large NF-A15 fans not only contribute to the NH-D15's superb CPU cooling capabilities but also provide massive airflow over surrounding motherboard components and heatsinks, thus ensuring excellent component cooling performance.
SecuFirm2™ mounting system for AM4

SecuFirm2™ mounting system for AM4

Noctua’s SecuFirm2™ mounting systems have become synonymous with quality, safety and ease of use. In order to achieve the best compatibility and to match the airflow path inside the case, the SecuFirm2™ mounting for AM4 makes it possible to install the cooler either in standard orientation or turned by 90°.**
NT-H1 thermal compound

NT-H1 thermal compound

Noctua's much-acclaimed NT-H1 is a well proven pro-grade TIM solution that provides minimum thermal resistance, excellent ease-of-use and outstanding reliability, which makes it suitable for use in professional server and workstation environments.
6-year manufacturer’s warranty

6-year manufacturer’s warranty

Noctua products are renowned for their impeccable quality and outstanding longevity. Like all Noctua fans, the supplied NF-A15's feature an MTTF rating of more than 150.000 hours and the entire NH-D15 package comes with a full 6-year manufacturer's warranty.
*In chassis with more than 165mm CPU cooler clearance, the front fan can be moved upwards to make room for memory modules taller than 32mm.

**The possibility of installing the cooler turned by 90° depends on the free space around the CPU socket and can thus vary from motherboard to motherboard.
NH-D15 SE-AM4
General
Notes and warnings
Please note that being a dedicated special edition for AM4, the NH-D15 SE-AM4 comes with AM4 mounting hardware only, and that for this cooler, Noctua cannot provide free mounting kits for other current sockets such as LGA115x or LGA2011. For the NH-D15 SE-AM4, these mounting kits can only be purchased in retail or online shops (NM-i115x for LGA115x and NM-I2011 for LGA2011). Future mounting upgrades will be provided free of charge as usual if technically possible.
Cooler Specification
Height (without fan)
160 mm
Width (without fan)
150 mm
Depth (without fan)
135 mm
Height (with fan)
165 mm
Width (with fan)
150 mm
Depth (with fan)
161 mm
Weight (without fan)
980 g
Weight (with fan/s)
1320 g
Material
Copper (base and heat-pipes), aluminium (cooling fins), soldered joints & nickel plating
Max. TDP
see TDP guide
Fan compatibility
140x150x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 140x140x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 120x120x25
Scope of Delivery
  • 2x NF-A15 PWM premium fan
  • 2x Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
  • 4-pin PWM y-cable
  • NT-H1 high-grade thermal compound
  • SecuFirm2™ AM4 mounting-kit
  • Noctua metal case-badge
Warranty
6 Years
FAN Specification
Model
2x Noctua NF-A15 PWM
Bearing
Max. Rotational Speed (+/- 10%)
1500 RPM
Max. Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%)
1200 RPM
Min. Rotational Speed (PWM, +/-20%)
300 RPM
Max. Acoustical Noise
24,6 dB(A)
Max. Acoustical Noise with L.N.A.
19,2 dB(A)
Input Power
1,56 W
Voltage Range
12 V
MTTF
> 150.000 h
NH-D15 SE-AM4
23.05.2017 // ThinkComputers.com
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

When someone asks me about getting a new CPU cooler if they are going the air route I always suggest Noctua as their coolers are proven and on top of that they are always easy to install. With the NH-D15 SE-AM4 you get both of those things. In our testing on the Ryzen 7 1700 the NH-D15 SE-AM4 was able to keep it at 26C during idle and 40C during load. That is very impressive! Even beating out Corsair’s H110i all-in-one liquid cooler. On top of that even with the low-noise adapters installed you get very good performance. Without the low-noise adapters installed the fans really are not that loud at all. Noctua has used their SecureFirm2 mounting system for years now and we love it. All of their coolers, even large ones like this are extremely easy to install, even for a beginner. It took us about 10 minutes to get this cooler fully installed and you can easily install this cooler with your motherboard inside of your case.
Test verdict: "If you are looking for a CPU cooler to cool down your new Ryzen processor the NH-D15 SE-AM4 is a great choice and I would even recommend it over many AiO liquid coolers as it is easier to install, provides better performance, and is quieter." (Bob Buskirk, ThinkComputers.com)
13.05.2017 // HardwareAsylum.com
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

I would assume that most everyone is familiar with the Noctua NH-D15 heatsink and the Noctua NH-D14 that was released over seven years ago. These coolers offer the best of both worlds given the excellent thermal performance of the dual tower design and even better acoustical performance due to fan efficiencies and oversized design.
Test verdict: "Overall performance was really good. The heat tests showed that the Noctua NH-D15 SE AM4 could handle a very healthy overclock and responded well despite only having a single fan installed." (Dennis Garcia, HardwareAsylum.com)
31.03.2017 // FunkyKit.com
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

Besides top performance it offers also silent work and full compatibility with all available devices. Additionally it’s covered by six year warranty. You are receiving the best product for your needs. The only issue for some users can be size of the heatsink. For those users I recommend to take a look at other Noctua AM4 coolers which are also the best in their class. Noctua NH-D15 easily receives FunkyKit’s Editor’s Choice Award!
Test verdict: "Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4 is the best air cooling solution for AM4 socket available on the market. Period." (Bartosz Waluk, FunkyKit.com)
16.05.2017 // Dark Tech Reviews
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

أعتقد انك لا تحتاج إلى تعليق فكل مشتت نجح في أداء مميز مقابل السعر والجودة التي تقدمها شركة Noctua كالمعتاد أيضاً مشتت D15s وصل لأداء التبريد المائي بصورة بسيطة
Test verdict: "مشتتات هوائية بجودة ممتازة واداء ممتاز" (Ahmed Mohamed, Dark Tech Reviews)
08.05.2017 // ReHWolution.it
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

Infine, parlando dell’NH-D15 in salsa SE-AM4, vediamo un ulteriore calo nelle temperature, con una temperatura sopra quella ambientale di appena 26 °C, 20 °C tondi in meno rispetto all’NH-L9x65. Ovviamente, temperature così basse provengono da un numero di alette ed heatpipes (ed ingombro) maggiore, a fronte inoltre di un prezzo vicino a quello di un sistema a liquido all-in-one.
Test verdict: "Per quanto riguarda invece l’NH-D15 SE-AM4, il costo elevato e l’imgombro “esagerato” potrebbero far storcere il naso a chi vuole una soluzione orientata al rapporto prezzo/prestazioni, ma se volete un processore raffreddato al meglio dovrete essere disposti a spendere il giusto compenso. Per questo, ad esso diamo il nostro Hardware Platinum Award." (Ciro Sdino, ReHWolution.it)
28.03.2017 // ProfesionalReview.com
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

El nuevo Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4 se trata de un disipador de torre doble de aluminio, fabricado con los mejores componentes del mercado. Su conjunto con los ventiladores NF-A15 de 140 mm PWM son la combinación ideal en sonoridad y rendimiento del mercado. Su base de cobre niquelada y sus 6 gruesos heatpipes permiten que el AMD Ryzen 1800X mantenga unas temperaturas de 30 ºC en reposo y 48 ºC a máximo rendimiento. Mientras cuando aplicamos overclock 4 GHz y un voltaje de 1.41 suban las temperaturas hasta los 37ºC en reposo y paralice hasta los 56ºC a full. Mención especial a su fácil e intuitivo montaje. Los nuevos brackets son los mejores que he probado actualmente para el socket AM4. Por ahora, es mi elección favorita para esos usuarios que no quieren una refrigeración líquida pero quiere sacar el máximo rendimiento a su procesador de gama alta. También nos ha gustado que permita instalar memoria de alto perfil.
Test verdict: "El equipo de Profesional Review le otorgamos la medalla de platino y la insignia de producto recomendado." (Miguel Ángel Navas Carrera, ProfesionalReview.com)
20.03.2017 // Crazypc.ro
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

Atingând un maxim de aproximativ 63 de grade AMD 1700 nu este un procesor chiar așa fierbinte cum este catalogat în mediul online. Dacă doriți temperauri cât mai mici trebuie să vă orientați către flagshipurile pe aer sau pe cele aio. Recomand Noctua D15 tuturor care doresc un cooler premium silențios și foarte performant. Ventilatoarele marca Noctua și-au făcut treaba cu brio fiind pe toată durata testelor foarte silențioase.
Test verdict: "Analizând arhitectura procesorului Ryzen cât și rezultatele obținute nu pot decât să afirm că Noctua D15 este unul dintre cele mai bune coolere pe aer." (Vlad Buluta, Crazypc.ro)
17.03.2017 // XtremeSystems.org
test.gif

NH-D15 SE-AM4 Review

This next set of numbers has me completely stunned, I had to re-test a couple of extra times just to make sure it wasn't an external factor screwing up my numbers, but what you're seeing is real, the Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4 is the coolest air cooling CPU by a huge margin. It is even cooler than the Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 and Be Quiet Silent Loop 240mm, all of which are high-performance water cooling units!
Test verdict: "The Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4 is the new Gold Standard of air-cooling on AM4." (Ambrosidou Nat, XtremeSystems.org)

Installation Manual (PDF)

Information Sheet (PDF)

FAQs

How can I check whether my case is wide/high enough for the cooler?

The supplied y-cable is missing a wire at one of the two connectors, is it faulty?

How to remove the base protection cover?

I get a CPU fan error using my Noctua PWM fan, is it faulty?

Why is the cooler’s contact surface slightly convex?

Can I install a 140mm fan with a square frame (e.g. NF-A14)?

I’ve used all the NT-H1 thermal compound that came with the cooler, can you send me more?

Which sockets are supported or can be supported using upgrade kits?

How big is the NH-D15 and how much clearance does it provide for RAM and chipset coolers?

Can I install a third fan on the NH-D15?

I'm experiencing fan speed issues with my motherboard from Supermicro, what can I do?

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with Intel LGA2066?

Should I take the cooler off before transporting my system?

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

Can I keep using the backplate / mounting system of my previous Noctua cooler for my new one?

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with AMD AM4 (Ryzen)?

How can I check whether my case is wide/high enough for the cooler?

Most case manufacturers provide specifications for maximum CPU cooler height/clearance. Please refer to these specifications in order to verify that the cooler will fit the case. If no specifications are available, please contact the case manufactuer or measure the distance from the motherboard tray to the side panel (tower cases) or top panel (desktop cases). If this distance is bigger than the height of the cooler + 15mm (mainboard spacers + mainboard + CPU), the height/width of your case should be sufficient.

The supplied y-cable is missing a wire at one of the two connectors, is it faulty?

No. As mainboards can process only one rpm-signal per fan header, it would cause problems if the cable transmitted rpm-signals of both fans. For this reason, one of the two connectors does not have an rpm wire and only the fan on the other connector will transmit an rpm signal. Automatic speed control of both fans will work independent from the second fan’s rpm signal.

How to remove the base protection cover?

Noctua CPU coolers are shipped with a plastic protection cover at the bottom side of the cooler, which protects the contact surface against scratches and other damage.

The base of Noctua CPU coolers is made from hard-wearing nickel plated copper, so there's nothing to worry about if you buy a Noctua cooler from second hand or if your cooler didn't come with a protection cover. Please proceed with the installation as explained in the manual.

You can simply remove the cover as shown below:

Base Protection Cover

I get a CPU fan error using my Noctua PWM fan, is it faulty?

Noctua PWM fans feature a minimum speed of 300rpm to allow for ultra quiet operation when your CPU is at idle state and doesn’t require higher cooling performance. Some mainboards display error messages such as “CPU fan error” during the booting process when the fan speed is below a certain level. If you get such error messages using your Noctua PWM fan and if such options are available in your BIOS, please either adjust the minimum fan speed monitoring limit to 200rpm or increase the minimum PWM duty cycle. If your BIOS doesn’t offer these options, please disable CPU fan errors. For detailed information on BIOS fan settings, please consult your mainoard’s manual or contact your mainboard manufacturer.

Why is the cooler’s contact surface slightly convex?

As the Integrated Heat Spreaders (IHS) of today’s CPUs are slightly concave, the cooler’s contact surface has been deliberately designed to be slightly convex in order to ensure optimal contact. This way, more contact pressure will be applied at the centre of the IHS directly above the DIE, which results in better heat transfer and improved overall performance.

Can I install a 140mm fan with a square frame (e.g. NF-A14)?

Yes, fan clips for installing square frame 140mm fans (such as the NF-A14) are available on request via our customer support.

I’ve used all the NT-H1 thermal compound that came with the cooler, can you send me more?

Please kindly note that the NT-H1 thermal compound supplied with our coolers is a consumable item so our manufacturer’s warranty does not include providing additional thermal compound. You can purchase NT-H1 from our resellers.

Which sockets are supported or can be supported using upgrade kits?

Please refer to our socket compatibility chart.

How big is the NH-D15 and how much clearance does it provide for RAM and chipset coolers?

Please refer to the following drawing for the exact measurements and clearance for RAM and chipset coolers:

D15

The front fins of the NH-D15 generally protrude over the RAM slots. Due to the recessed lower fins, it is still possible to use RAM modules with up to 64mm height in single fan mode. In dual fan mode, the front fan will sit above the RAM slots as well. In this case, Noctua recommends using standard height RAM (up to 32mm). However, in chassis with more than 165mm CPU cooler clearance, the front fan can be moved upwards to make room for memory modules taller than 32mm (e.g. moving the fan 5mm up will increase the total height from 165 to 170mm and make room for 37mm tall modules).

Can I install a third fan on the NH-D15?

Adding a third fan to the NH-D15 only yields minimal improvements in cooling performance (0.5°C max.), but noise levels will increase significantly. As this doesn’t make sense from a technical point of view, we don’t include mounting hardware for a third fan in the box and don’t offer it separately.

I'm experiencing fan speed issues with my motherboard from Supermicro, what can I do?

The BIOS of many motherboard models from Supermicro expects a certain minimum fan speed (usually 700rpm), which is higher than the minimum fan speed that can be achieved with Noctua's PWM fan models. The BIOS may interpret the low minimum RPM of Noctua fans as a fan error and thus try to run the fan at 100% for a short period before going back to automatic control.. This can result in oscillating fan speeds and fan speed warnings in the BIOS or the fan management console.

Unfortunately there is usually no option to set a lower minimum value that would suit the low minimum speed of Noctua PWM fans.The issue can thus only be resolved by either disabling automatic fan speed control in BIOS, which will cause the fans to run at a constant speed, or by requesting a modified BIOS file from Supermicro, which takes the minimum fan speed of Noctua fans into account (charges might apply).

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

Most motherboard vendors allow their overclocking-enabled products (e.g. those with Intels X- or Z-series chipsets) to run the processor at increased clock speeds by default, without requiring any user action at all. Since TDP (Thermal Design Power) limits are usually also disabled by default, this leads to the CPU exceeding the rated TDP to a varying degree, depending on the used applications and their workloads. Due to the increased heat output of the CPU, you may see higher CPU temperatures than expected.

In order to find out if your motherboard is overclocking your processor by default, please enter the UEFI BIOS and select the “advanced” or “overclocking” menu. There you should be able to find options such as “MultiCore Enhancement” (options: enabled/disabled), “CPU Ratio Apply Mode” (options: all/per core) or similar. To disable the automatic overclocking, adjust the settings either to “disabled” or “per core” and make sure that the individual multipliers match the original specifications.

In doubt, please contact your motherboard vendor for detailed instructions on how to disable this feature.

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

Dust: Fans and heatsinks inside computer cases tend to accumulate dust over longer periods of usage. In order to maintain maximum performance, please clean your fan and heatsink regularly. For cleaning, please first remove the fan from the heatsink and clean it using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please do not use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan and do not put the fan under running water as water residues inside the motor may lead to short circuits. Please also note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty. Before reinstalling the fan, clean the heatsink itself with a duster or vacuum cleaner. Do not use water to clean the cooler. Finally put the fan back on and connect it to your motherboard fan header or fan controller.
Thermal paste residues: Whenever you take off the heatsink from the CPU, we recommend to clean the CPU as well as the base of the cooler before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler. You can either just wipe the base and the CPU clean with a dry, lint-free tissue or, for more thorough cleaning, use a lint-free tissue moistened with either a mild solution of washing-up liquid or isopropyl alcohol. Do not put the cooler or CPU under running water. Note that both the base of the heatsink and the CPU should be dry, free from residues of thermal compound and free from grease before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler.

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Not sure which Noctua product to buy? Our detailed buying guides for fans and CPU coolers help you to choose the model that works best for you.

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with Intel LGA2066?

Due to the heatsink mounting mechanism being identical on LGA2011 and LGA2066, Noctua’s SecuFirm2™ mounting systems for LGA2011 also support Intel’s upcoming ‘Basin Falls’ X299 HEDT (High End Desktop) platform for ‘Skylake-X’ and ‘Kaby Lake-X’ processors. Most current Noctua coolers already include SecuFirm2™ mounting systems for LGA2011 and can thus be used on LGA2066 motherboards without any upgrades or modifications.

The following models include a mounting-kit for socket LGA2011/2066 and are thus compatible out of the box:

NH-C14S
NH-D14 SE2011
NH-D15
NH-D15S
NH-D9L
NH-L12
NH-L9x65
NH-U12S
NH-U12DX i4
NH-U14S
NH-U9DX i4
NH-U9S

The following models can be made compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets free of charge using the NM-I2011 upgrade-kit:

NH-C12P
NH-C12P SE14
NH-C14
NH-D14
NH-D15 SE-AM4
NH-U12S SE-AM4
NH-L9x65 SE-AM4
NH-U12
NH-U12F
NH-U12P
NH-U12P SE1366
NH-U12P SE2
NH-U9
NH-U9B
NH-U9B SE2
NH-U9F

The following models can be made compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets using the NM-I2011 upgrade-kit but are not eligible for Noctua‘s free mounting offer, so users have to purchase the kit at local resellers:

NH-U12DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)
NH-U12DX
NH-U12DX 1366
NH-U9DX 1366
NH-U9DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)

The following models are not compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets and can not be upgraded:

NH-L9a
NH-L9i
NH-U12DO A3
NH-U9DO A3

Should I take the cooler off before transporting my system?

As it is not possible to reliably calculate or control the forces that act upon a system during transport (e.g. in shipping), we generally recommend, for safety reasons, taking the cooler off. Noctua cannot be held responsible for any damage that may arise due to excessive stress during transport if you keep the heatsink installed.

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

All screws should be tightened gently until they stop without using excessive force. Please do not exceed the following values for maximum tightening torque:
Screw typeMax. torque
NM-SSC1 screws for fixing the fastening brackets to the base of the heatsink0.5 Nm
NM-ITS1 thumb screws for fixing Intel mounting bars0.5 Nm
NM-ALS1 screws for fixing AMD mounting bars0.6 Nm
Spring-loaded screws for fixing the heatsink to the mounting bars0.6 Nm

Can I keep using the backplate / mounting system of my previous Noctua cooler for my new one?

Most Noctua SecuFirm™ mounting parts are cross-compatible, so if you’re replacing one Noctua cooler with another, it is usually possible to keep the original backplate and/or mounting system in place in order to re-use it for the new cooler. If you had your previous Noctua cooler installed on an Intel LGA115x (LGA1156, LGA1155, LGA1151, LGA1150), LGA2011 (LGA2011-0, LGA2011-3) or LGA1366 system and replace it with an NH-U14S, NH-U12S or NH-U9S, you only need to replace the original mounting bars with the NM-IMB3 ones supplied with the new cooler. For all other models, you can keep the entire mounting system in place on the aforementioned Intel sockets. On AMD AM2, AM2+, AM3, AM3+, FM1, FM2, FM2+, you only need to replace the original mounting bars with the ones supplied with the new cooler.

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

Please refer to the installation manual and our video installation guides for detailed instructions on how to install the cooler.

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

Please refer to our TDP guide for information on maximum recommended TDP and heat dissipation.

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

Please refer to our TDP guide in order to select the cooler that offers the best cooling performance at a given height.

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

Systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands often use motherboards which differ slightly from the specifications issued by Intel and AMD. While those changes are usually subtle, they can lead to compatibility issues with coolers that where built to comply with these specifications.

Even in case the cooler is mechanically compatible and can be installed, other issues can occur, e.g. proprietary fan connectors, BIOS errors due to a low fan speed, shutdowns, etc. Some of these problems can be avoided with some technical knowledge, but especially BIOS related issues can often not be resolved.

Due to the large number of possible issues that cannot be resolved with different mounting parts alone, Noctua does not officially support systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands.

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with AMD AM4 (Ryzen)?

The following models include a mounting-kit for socket AM4 and are thus compatible out of the box:

NH-D15 SE-AM4
NH-U12S SE-AM4
NH-L9x65 SE-AM4

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4 upgrade-kit:

NH-C12P
NH-C12P SE14
NH-C14
NH-C14S
NH-D14
NH-D14 SE2011
NH-D15
NH-D15S
NH-D9L
NH-L12
NH-L9x65
NH-U12
NH-U12F
NH-U12P
NH-U12P SE1366
NH-U12P SE2
NH-U9
NH-U9B
NH-U9B SE2
NH-U9F

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4-UxS upgrade-kit:

NH-U14S
NH-U12S
NH-U9S

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4-L9aL9i upgrade-kit:

NH-L9a
NH-L9i

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket using the NM-AM4 upgrade-kit but are not eligible for Noctua‘s free mounting offer, so users have to purchase the kit at local resellers:

NH-U12DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)
NH-U12DX
NH-U12DX 1366
NH-U12DX i4
NH-U9DX i4
NH-U9DX 1366
NH-U9DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)

The following models are not compatible with the AM4 socket and can not be upgraded:

NH-U12DO A3
NH-U9 DO A3

Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!