heading

Tailored to provide superior RAM and PCIe compatibility, the NH-D15S is an asymmetrical single fan version of Noctua’s award-winning flagship model, the NH-D15. Thanks to its asymmetrical design, the NH-D15S clears the top PCIe slot on most µATX and ATX motherboards. At the same time, the single fan setup and recessed lower fins guarantee 100% RAM compatibility with memory modules of up to 65mm height. Users who have sufficient room can also upgrade the cooler with either a 120mm or round 140mm fan on the front fin stack for further improved performance in dual fan mode. Topped off with the trusted, pro-grade SecuFirm2™ multi-socket mounting system, Noctua’s proven NT-H1 thermal compound and full 6 years manufacturer’s warranty, the NH-D15S forms a complete premium quality solution that combines dual tower efficiency with excellent compatibility and flexible upgrade options.

Details
High-compatibility version of NH-D15

High-compatibility version of NH-D15

Compared to the award-winning NH-D15, the S-version uses an off-set, asymmetrical layout and a single instead of dual NF-A15 fans. This allows the NH-D15S to provide state-of-the-art heatsink performance while maintaining superior RAM and PCIe compatibility.
Excellent RAM compatibility

Excellent RAM compatibility

Thanks to its recessed lower fins, the NH-D15S provides 65mm clearance for tall memory heatsinks, making it compatible with most high end modules on the market. As the lower fins are recessed on both sides of the heatsink, compatibility is excellent not only on LGA115x and AMD, but also on LGA2011 where there are RAM slots on both sides of the socket.
Asymmetrical layout for better PCIe compatibility

Asymmetrical layout for better PCIe compatibility

As many current motherboards have the top PCIe x16 slot sitting close to the socket, bigger heatsinks tend to block it. Due to its asymmetrical layout, the fin-stack of the NH-D15S is off-set towards the upper edge of the motherboard when installed in standard orientation. This allows it to clear the top PCIe x16 slot on most current µATX and ATX motherboard.*
NF-A15 140mm fan

NF-A15 140mm fan

Complying with Noctua's AAO standard and featuring sophisticated aerodynamic design measures such as Flow Acceleration Channels, the NF-A15 has quickly built up a reputation as one of the best 140mm fans on the market.
Dual-fan ready

Dual-fan ready

Using the supplied extra fan clips, the NH-D15S can be upgraded with either a second round-frame 140mm fan with 120mm mounting holes (such as the NF-A15) for maximum performance or a common 120mm fan (such as the NF-F12) for improving performance while maintaining compatibility with RAM modules of up to 45mm height.
PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

The NF-A15 premium fan supplied with the NH-D15S supports PWM for convenient automatic speed control through the motherboard. In addition, the maximum fan speed can be reduced from 1500 to 1200rpm using the supplied Low-Noise Adaptor for even quieter operation.
Excellent component cooling

Excellent component cooling

Extending below the fin-stacks, the large NF-A15 fan not only contributes to the superb CPU cooling capabilities of the NH-D15S but also provides massive airflow over surrounding motherboard components and heatsinks, thus ensuring excellent component cooling performance.
SecuFirm2™ mounting system

SecuFirm2™ mounting system

Noctua's SecuFirm2™ mounting systems have become synonymous with quality, safety and ease of use. Supporting Intel LGA115x (LGA1150, LGA1151, LGA1155, LGA1156), LGA2011 (LGA2011-0 & LGA2011-3) and AMD (AM3(+), AM2(+), FM1, FM2(+)), the SecuFirm2™ mounting included with the NH-D15S guarantees perfect contact pressure and maximum convenience on all current sockets.
Compatibility with past and future sockets

Compatibility with past and future sockets

Complying with the open SecuFirm™ standard, the NH-D15S can be made compatible with the older LGA1366 and LGA775 sockets using the optional NM-I3 mounting kit, which is provided by Noctua free of charge. If technically possible, Noctua will also provide upgrade kits for future sockets.
6-year manufacturer’s warranty

6-year manufacturer’s warranty

Noctua products are renowned for their impeccable quality and outstanding longevity. Like all Noctua fans, the supplied NF-A15 features an MTBF rating of more than 150.000 hours and the entire NH-D15S package comes with a full 6-year manufacturer’s warranty.
*Please refer to our motherboard compatibility list for detailed information.
NH-D15S
Cooler Specification
Intel LGA2011-0 & LGA2011-3 (Square ILM), LGA1156, LGA1155, LGA1151, LGA1150 & AMD AM2, AM2+, AM3, AM3+, FM1, FM2, FM2+ (backplate required)
Height (without fan)
160 mm
Width (without fan)
150 mm
Depth (without fan)
135 mm
Height (with fan)
160 mm
Width (with fan)
150 mm
Depth (with fan)
135 mm
Weight (without fan)
980 g
Weight (with fan/s)
1150 g
Material
Copper (base and heat-pipes), aluminium (cooling fins), soldered joints & nickel plating
Max. TDP
see TDP guide
Fan compatibility
140x150x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 140x140x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 120x120x25
Scope of Delivery
  • 1x NF-A15 PWM premium fan
  • Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
  • Fan clips for second fan
  • NT-H1 high-grade thermal compound
  • SecuFirm2™ Mounting Kit
  • Noctua Metal Case-Badge
Warranty
6 Years
FAN Specification
Bearing
%s
1500 RPM
Max. Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%)
1200 RPM
Max. Acoustical Noise
24,6 dB(A)
Max. Acoustical Noise with L.N.A.
19,2 dB(A)
Input Power
1,56 W
Voltage Range
12 V
MTTF
> 150.000 h
NH-D15S
NH-D15S
NH-D15S
Video Reviews
The following video reviews have not been created by Noctua. Responsibility for the information and views expressed in the videos lies entirely with the authors.
language
language
language
language
11.12.2016 // Tweakers.net
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Noctua wist weer een goed product op de planken te leggen. Ik verwachtte ook een zeer goede prestatie van deze koeler. Ik heb al diverse ventilatoren in mijn computer geplaatst voor betere airflow en koeling. Waar ik heel erg blij mee ben is dat ze geruisloos de strijd aan gaan met de warmte van de computer. Perfecte koeling, luxe uitstraling en een lange garantie van 6 jaar. Wat wil je als gamer nog meer? Je wordt niet geïrriteerd door suizende ventilatoren of irritante tikjes. Conlusie: de producten van Noctua kan ik zeer zeker aanbevelen. Wil je jouw game level naar een nog hoger niveau brengen? Ben je opzoek naar een luxe product voor een fantastische prijs? Dan zal ik er vandaag nog een aanschaffen! Leuk voor onder de kerstboom. ;-)
Test verdict: "Deze processorkoeler van Noctua stel je niet teleur! Het is een geweldig product, ik had zeer hoge verwachtingen en deze werden boven verwachting waargemaakt. Alles draait als een zonnetje en ik hoor de koeler haast niet tijdens mijn game sessies. Na een lange tijd op 100% te hebben gedraaid, maakt hij geen ratelende of irritante geluiden. ‘High class product!’" (Rob Lammerts, Tweakers.net)
05.12.2016 // LegitReviews.com
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

There isn’t a whole lot new or special about Noctua’s NH-D15S CPU cooler, however it still performed very well and darn near identical to the NH-D15 – as it should.
Test verdict: "This particular cooler, the NH-D15S, was originally released on August 28, 2015, so it has been around for a while, but still performs like a king." (Brian Nyhuis, LegitReviews.com)
23.11.2016 // ZeDen.net
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Ce NH-D15S est une véritable réussite. Simple et rapide à monter. Compatible avec des kits de RAM avec radiateur, il faudra tout de même veiller à ce que votre tour soit assez large pour pouvoir l'intégrer. Quant à son efficacité, c'est simple, il est excellent, un des meilleurs actuellement. Alors oui il ne révolutionne pas les solutions de type aircooling, mais il a le mérite de bien remplir son rôle. Cela dit au prix de 80 euros c'est logique. Mais avec ce NH-D15S, vous êtes tranquille et votre CPU au frais. Paradoxalement, je ne le conseillerais pas à tout le monde d'une part parce qu'il demande un boitier assez volumineux mine de rien et d'autre part parce qu'il n'est pas à la portée de toutes les bourses. Ce ventirad s'adresse avant tout aux personnes ayant un bon budget et une tour imposante qui l'acceptera. Pour ceux qui souhaitent l'acquérir, une chose est sûre, vous ne regretterez pas de casser votre tirelire. C'est un produit fini et complet qui vous suivra un bon moment vu qu'une prise en charge des futurs sockets est prévue.
Test verdict: "On aimerait voir plus souvent des produits de ce niveau." (Thomas Lasserre, ZeDen.net)
27.10.2016 // OCClub.ru
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Noctua NH-D15S крайне схожа с предшественницей в лице NH-D15. Не держа в руках одновременно оба охладителя даже отличить сложно. По сути, NH-D15S можно назвать работой над ошибками. В свое время кулер NH-D15 был великолепен и изумителен, но мог вызвать немало головной боли из-за перекрытия слотов расширения, а на некоторых платах и вовсе перекрывал единственный слот PCI-Express. Не изменяя существенно конструкцию радиатора, которая свою эффективность доказала не раз и не два, инженерам Noctua удалось добиться гораздо лучшей совместимости, и в первую очередь на платах форм-фактора mini-ITX и micro-ATX, набирающих все большую и большую популярность.
Test verdict: "Итог краток: топовый Noctua стал ближе к народу." (Oleg Ubeiko, OCClub.ru)
16.10.2016 // PC-Gaming.it
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Man mano che leggevamo i dati tecnici abbiamo capito fin da subito che la serie Redux si sarebbe distinta, ben consci anche degli ottimi prodotti della casa, non a caso il sistema di test era appunto un glorioso NH D-14, cuore degli amanti dell’overclock, superato solo dal migliorato NH-D15. Le impressioni su test si sono rivelate ottime, e si sono dimostrate ben sopra gli usi comuni.
Test verdict: "Chi desidera soluzioni più piccole, ha una vasta gamma da scegliere, e le Redux si sono dimostrate particolarmente efficienti." (Matteo Carrara, PC-Gaming.it)
04.10.2016 // DDWorld.cz
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Pokud se někdo lekl toho, že D15S je menší a má jen jeden ventilátor v základu než předchozí D15, tak už vidí, že není čeho se bát. Ano, v extrému může mít i malinko nižší výkon, ale rozdíl je naprosto zanedbatelný v praxi. D15S má dokonce osazena dvojicí ventilátorů (což je stále možné), o malinko lepší výkon než D15. Nicméně cílem bylo hlavně zlepšit kompatibilitu osazení chladiče a tady musíme říci, že se mise opravdu velmi zdařila.
Test verdict: "Rozhodně doporučujeme, tímhle modelem nemůžete udělat chybu a má vše, co od kvalitního klasického chlazení pro procesor chcete." (Jan Stach, DDWorld.cz)
19.09.2016 // ITHardware.pl
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Noctua NH-D15S to bardzo podobna konstrukcja do flagowego modelu NH-D15. Poczyniono jednak parę zmian, które mają poprawić kompatybilność z różnymi platformami. Radiator jest asymetryczny, by uniknąć kolizji z kartami graficznymi w przypadku płyt głównych z czterema slotami PCI-Express. Nie ma też drugiego wentylatora, który mógłby kolidować z wysokimi modułami pamięci RAM. Można sobie oczywiście go dołożyć we własnym zakresie - ale wydajność NH-D15S jest tak dobra, że raczej nie będzie to konieczne. Sześć rurek i najwyższa jakość wykonania zrobiły swoje: NH-D15S to absolutna czołówka tego testu. Niestety nie jest to cooler dla każdego.
Test verdict: "Podobnie jak inne produkty Noctua, kosztuje tyle co low-endowy procesor. Jeśli jednak taka wydajność jest nam potrzebna, z całą pewnością warto rozważyć konstrukcję austriackiego producenta." (Krzysztof Opacki , ITHardware.pl)
12.09.2016 // IMAEDIA.de
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

Der CPU-Kühler NH-D15S ist nicht nur ein Kompatibilitäts-, sondern auch ein eindeutiges Performance- Wunder. Eine 18-Core (Octadeca-core)-CPU mit Luft unter Volllast nahezu geräuschlos kühlen zu können, spricht für sich. Wenn auch gleich der Kühler mit rund 80 EUR Straßenpreis (+ Optional einem zweiten NF-A15 PWM Lüfter für rund 20 EUR) schon eine kleine Investition ist, kann ich definitiv sagen, dass man hier aber auch ein wirklich gutes Produkt für sein Geld erhält.
Test verdict: "Der Kühler überzeugt nicht nur über reine Kühlleistung bei niedrigem Geräuschpegel, sondern auch über seiner überragend einfache Montage und einer lupenreinen Verarbeitungsqualität. Es macht einfach Spaß mit Noctua Produkten zu arbeiten." (Timo Weuter, IMAEDIA.de)
06.09.2016 // JotaReviews.pt
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

A Noctua ao lançar este D15S veio resolver o grande problema que se encontra em maioria dos coolers, como por exemplo no D15 que é a impossibilidade de utilizar o primeiro slot PCIe de board ATX e microATX em que o slot está muito próximo do socket e outra das grandes vantagens deste modelo é o corte que lhe foi feito de forma a permitir a utilização de memórias mais altas, sendo que suporta memórias até 6.5cm. A qualidade de construção do NH-D15S é fabulosa e a sua ventoinha é bastante silenciosa e com uma excelente performance. Um dos pontos mais positivos e que destacam a Noctua das restantes marcas é o seu sistema de montagem que é bastante simples e intuitivo, sendo que em menos de 5 minutos o cooler está montado. A nível de acessórios vem muito bem equipado, apenas de destacar que tendo em conta o seu custo poderia vir mais uma ventoinha incluída, tal como o NH-D15 que inclui duas ventoinhas.
Test verdict: "É dos melhores coolers que já nos passou pelas mãos e merece total recomendação por parte da equipa JotaReviews, se procuram um cooler silencioso e com alta performance este NH-D15S será a escolha ideal." (João Teixeira, JotaReviews.pt)
05.09.2016 // RelaxedTech.com
test.gif

NH-D15S Review

The NH-D15S offers perfect compatibility with the memory and video cards and it performs just as good as the regular NH-D15 with only one fan. If you decide to buy a second fan, you might drop the temperature 1-2 Celsius at most but it won't be worth it since the NF-A15 PWM is an expensive fan that retails for $23 on Amazon. It performs great with just one fan and is whisper quiet. The NH-D15S is the second best CPU cooler that we have tested and does a fantastic job at beating pretty much all the AIO coolers that we have in our lab. Noctua is slowly dominating the cooling market with their perfect products.
Test verdict: "We strongly recommend the NH-D15S to anyone who's looking for a high quality cooler that will give you the best cooling performance available on the market." Henry Peshkepija, RelaxedTech.com)

Installation Manual (PDF)

Information Sheet (PDF)

How big is the NH-D15S and how much clearance does it provide for RAM and mainboard heatsinks?

Please refer to the following drawing for the exact measurements and clearance for RAM and motherboard heatsinks:

D15S

Does the NF-A15 PWM that comes with Noctua coolers run at a different speed (1500rpm) than the retail model (1200rpm)?

Yes, the NF-A15 PWM bundled with our heatsinks is specified to run at 1500rpm (see cooler specifications for details) and the retail model is specified to run at 1200rpm (see fan specifications for details). The 1200rpm retail model is ideal for setting up push/pull configurations in combination with the coolers’ 1500rpm stock fan because the combination of the 1500 and 1200rpm models provides a better balance of performance and noise than the combination of two 1500rpm versions. On dual-tower coolers such as the NH-D15S, we recommend to run the 1500rpm version in the center and the 1200rpm version on the front. On single-tower coolers such as the NH-U14S, we recommend to run the 1500rpm version on the front and the 1200rpm version on the back of the cooler. The NA-YC1 y-cable supplied with the retail fan can be used in order to control both fans via one PWM fan header. In this case, both fans will scale individually according to the PWM duty cycle supplied by the motherboard, e.g. they will run at ~1500/1200 respectively at 100% duty cycle, ~750/600rpm at 50% duty cycle, etc. Both at 100% and lower speeds, the speed difference between the fans reduces resonance phenomena and thus helps to achieve the best balance of performance and noise.

Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!