How do the NH-U12A, NH-U12S, and NH-U12S redux? Which one to choose?

How do the NH-U12A, NH-U12S and NH-U12S redux compare? Which one to choose.

Offering a perfect combination of strong cooling performance, outstanding quietness of operation as well as excellent case, RAM and PCIe compatibility, the NH-U12S has been among Noctua’s most popular CPU cooler models for many years. It’s a great default choice for customers who are looking for a well-rounded, signature Noctua solution and don’t require the extra performance headroom of the NH-U12A. The NH-U12S chromax.black is identical to the regular version except for its black colour.


The NH-U12S redux is a streamlined, more affordable version of the NH-U12S. As such, it is perfect for users who are looking for a highly compatible, no-frills 120mm cooler that doesn’t break the bank. Its raw cooling performance is on the same level as the regular NH-U12S with both models scoring a Noctua Standardised Performance Rating (NSPR) of 131 points. However, the NF-F12 fan of the regular NH-U12S is 2.7dB(A) quieter than the NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM fan of the NH-U12S redux (22.4 vs. 25.1 dB(A)).


Users who want the absolute best performance/noise efficiency in the 120mm class and don’t mind investing a bit more should go with the premium class NH-U12A: With an NSPR of 169 points and its dual state-of-the-art NF-A12x25 PWM fans running around 2.5dB(A) quieter than the NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM fan of the NH-U12S redux, the NH-U12A provides a significantly higher level of performance/noise efficiency that can rival many 140mm coolers.


Unlike the NH-U12S redux, the NH-U12A and regular NH-U12S feature Noctua’s premium grade soldered interface between the heatpipes and the fins. They also include Low-Noise Adaptors a tube of NT-H1 thermal paste for several applications whereas the NH-U12S redux comes with NT-H1 pre-applied. While the NH-U12A is shipped with two fans and the regular NH-U12S includes clips for installing a second fan, the NH-U12S redux can only be upgraded using the optional NA-FK1.




NH-U12A NH-U12S /
NH-U12S chromax.black
NH-U12S redux
NSPR
169 129 129
Height 158mm 158mm 158mm
Number of heatpipes 7 5 4
Soldered interface of heatpipes and cooling fins compatible compatible not_compatible
Fan(s) 2x NF-A12x25 PWM 1x NF-F12 PWM /
1x NF-F12 PWM chromax.black
1x NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM
Acoustical noise rating 22,6 dB(A) 22,4 dB(A) 25,1 dB(A)
Low-Noise Adaptor compatible compatible (optional with NA-FK1 second fan kit)
Fan clips for second fan compatible compatible (optional with NA-FK1 second fan kit)
Thermal paste NT-H1, tube (~5 applications) NT-H1, tube (~5 applications) NT-H1, pre-applied
(1 application)
Mounting ecosystem compatibility SecuFirm2™ SecuFirm2™ SecuFirm2™
Included mounting
parts
SecuFirm2™ for Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4, AM3 SecuFirm2™ for Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4, AM3 SecuFirm2™ for Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4
Free of charge mounting upgrades (if technically possible) compatible compatible compatible
Warranty 6 years 6 years 6 years
MSRP 109.90 EUR / USD 69.90 EUR / USD /
79.90 EUR / USD
49.90 EUR / USD

Wodurch unterscheiden sich NH-U12A, NH-U12S und NH-U12S redux? Welches Modell soll ich kaufen?

Wodurch unterscheiden sich NH-U12A, NH-U12S und NH-U12S redux? Welches Modell soll ich kaufen?

Der NH-U12S zählt mit seiner perfekten Kombination aus starker Kühlleistung, hervorragender Laufruhe und ausgezeichneter Gehäuse-, RAM- und PCIe-Kompatibilität seit vielen Jahren zu unseren beliebtesten Kühler-Modellen. Er ist die perfekte Standard-Lösung für Kunden, die einen rundum ausgewogenen, typischen Noctua-Kühler suchen und nicht die zusätzlichen Leistungsreserven des NH-U12A. Der NH-U12S chromax.black ist technisch ident und unterscheidet sich ausschließlich durch die schwarze Farbe.


Der NH-U12S redux ist eine verschlankte, günstigere Version des NH-U12S. Demgemäß eignet er sich perfekt für Anwender, die einen hochkompatiblen, schnörkellosen und preisgünstigen 120mm-Kühler suchen. Die rohe Kühlleistung der redux Version entspricht mit einem Noctua Standardised Performance Rating (NSPR) von 129 Punkten jener des regulären NH-U12S. Der NF-F12 Lüfter der regulären Version ist jedoch 2,7dB(A) leiser als der NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM der redux-Version (22,4 vs. 25,1dB(A)).


Wer die absolut beste Effizienz (Verhältnis Kühlleistung/Lautstärke) im 120mm-Bereich sucht und etwas mehr auszugeben bereit ist, sollte den Premium-Kühler NH-U12A wählen: Mit einem NSPR von 169 Punkten und seinen zwei NF-A12x25 PWM Referenzklasse-Lüftern, die ca. 2,5dB(A) leiser laufen als der NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM des NH-U12S redux, bietet der NH-U12A ein deutlich besseres Verhältnis von Kühlleistung zu Lautstärke, das sich sogar mit vielen 140mm Kühlern messen kann.


Anders als beim NH-U12S redux sind beim NH-U12A und NH-U12S die Kühlrippen mit den Heatpipes verlötet. Weiters werden bei den letztgenannten Modellen Low-Noise-Adapter und eine Spritze NT-H1 Wärmeleitpaste für mehrere Applikationen mitgeliefert, wohingegen beim NH-U12S redux die Wärmeleitpaste vorappliziert ist. Schließlich unterscheiden sich die Modelle dahingehend, dass beim NH-U12A zwei Lüfter bzw. beim NH-U12S Klammern zur Montage eines zweiten Lüfters mitgeliefert werden, wohingegen der NH-U12S redux nur mittels des optionalen NA-FK1 Aufrüst-Sets im Doppellüfter-Betrieb verwendet werden kann.




NH-U12A NH-U12S /
NH-U12S chromax.black
NH-U12S redux
NSPR 169 129 129
Bauhöhe 158mm 158mm 158mm
Anzahl Heatpipes 7 5 4
Verlötung von Heatpipes und Kühlrippen compatible compatible not_compatible
Lüfter 2x NF-A12x25 PWM 1x NF-F12 PWM /
1x NF-F12 PWM chromax.black
1x NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM
Betriebsgeräusch 22,6 dB(A) 22,4 dB(A) 25,1 (dB)
Low-Noise Adaptor compatible compatible (optional with NA-FK1 second fan kit)
Lüfterklammern für zweiten Lüfter compatible compatible (optional with NA-FK1 second fan kit)
Wärmeleitpaste NT-H1, Spritze (~5 Anwendungen) NT-H1, Spritze (~5 Anwendungen) NT-H1, vorappliziert (1 Anwendung)
Montage-Ökosystem SecuFirm2™ SecuFirm2™ SecuFirm2™
Mitgelieferte Montagesets SecuFirm2™ für Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4, AM3 SecuFirm2™ für Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4, AM3 SecuFirm2™ für Intel LGA20xx, LGA1200/LGA115x, AMD AM4
Kostenlose Montage-Upgrades (wenn technisch möglich) compatible compatible compatible
Garantie 6 Jahre 6 Jahre 6 Jahre
UVP 109.90 EUR / USD 69.90 EUR / USD /
79.90 EUR / USD
49.90 EUR / USD