heading

Noctua presents next-generation NF-A12x25 120mm fan, 140mm adaptor and redux line NF-P12

Vienna, May 2nd 2018 – Noctua today presented its much-anticipated next-generation 120x25mm A-series fan and the complementary NA-SFMA1 adaptors that allow it to be used on 140mm based watercoolers. The new NF-A12x25 is the first fan made of Noctua’s novel Sterrox® LCP material and integrates the company’s latest innovations in aerodynamic engineering in order to achieve an unprecedented level of quiet cooling performance. While the NF-A12x25 becomes the new flagship model in the 120mm range, the classic NF-P12 will be reissued in the streamlined, more affordable redux line.

“The NF-A12x25 is our most advanced fan today. We’ve spent more than 4.5 years developing it and it’s been easily the most thorny, intricate development project we’ve completed so far,” explains Lars Strömbäck (Noctua CTO): “In order to achieve our goal of surpassing our renowned NF-F12 and NF-S12A, we went for a completely different approach and had to use a tip clearance of only 0.5mm, which poses various new difficulties in manufacturing.”

Whereas the award-winning NF-F12 and NF-S12A are specialised solutions that are either optimised for maximum static pressure or maximum airflow, the new NF-A12x25 follows the approach of Noctua’s A-series in being a true all-rounder that yields superb results in all types of usage, regardless of whether it’s in low-impedance, airflow-oriented applications such as case cooling, or high-impedance, pressure-demanding scenarios such as on heatsinks and watercooling radiators. In practice, the NF-A12x25 not only outperforms the renowned NF-F12 on 120mm based watercooling radiators, but combined with the new, optional NA-SFMA1 adaptor frames, it also offers better efficiency than many 140mm fans on 140mm based systems.

One of the cornerstones of the NF-A12x25’s next-generation performance is its record tight tip clearance (distance between the blade tips and the inside of the frame) of only 0.5mm. This highly ambitious design helps the NF-A12x25 to work more efficiently against back pressure, such as on heatsinks or radiators, by reducing leak flows through the gap between impeller and frame. Manufacturing a fan with such a small tip clearance is extremely delicate and was only made possible by Noctua’s new Sterrox® liquid-crystal polymer (LCP) material, which features extreme tensile strength, an exceptionally low thermal expansion coefficient and excellent dimensional stability.

“We have never put so much research and effort into a single fan so far, both on the level of fine-tuning the aerodynamic construction and on the level of materials and manufacturing,” says Roland Mossig (Noctua CEO): “Many challenges had to be overcome, but now we’re proud with the end result and confident that the NF-A12x25 will become a new benchmark for premium-quality quiet 120mm fans.”

The NF-A12x25 will be available in a 4-pin PWM version for automatic speed control, 3-pin FLX version with Low-Noise Adaptors for three different speed settings as well as a near-silent 3-pin ULN (Ultra-Low-Noise) version. As the NF-A12x25 becomes the new flagship model in Noctua’s 120mm range, the classic NF-P12 moves to the streamlined, more affordable redux line. It will henceforth be available in 1700 and 1300rpm 4-pin PWM versions as well as 1300 and 900rpm 3-pin versions.

NF-A12x25 further reading
Performance comparison to NF-F12 and NF-S12A
Technical backgrounds and manufacturing challenges
Interview with Lars Strömbäck (Noctua CTO)
Which 120mm fan is right for me?

Detailed specifications and photos
NF-A12x25 PWM
NF-A12x25 FLX
NF-A12x25 ULN
NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM
NF-P12 redux-1300 PWM
NF-P12 redux-1300
NF-P12 redux-900
NA-SFMA1

Prices and availability
All new models can already be purchased on Amazon and will be available via other retailers shortly:
Amazon.com
Amazon.ca
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.de
Amazon.es
Amazon.fr
Amazon.it

The suggested retail prices are as follows:
NF-A12x25 (all versions): EUR 29.90 / USD 29.90
NF-P12 redux (all versions): EUR 13.90 / USD 13.90
NA-SFMA1: EUR 11.90 / USD 11.90






About Noctua
Designed in Austria, Noctua’s premium cooling components are internationally renowned for their superb quietness, exceptional performance and thoroughgoing quality. Having received more than 6000 awards and recommendations from leading hardware websites and magazines, Noctua’s fans and heatsinks are serving hundreds of thousands of satisfied customers around the globe.

heading

Noctua präsentiert neuartigen NF-A12x25 120mm Lüfter, 140mm Adapter und NF-P12 redux

Wien, 2. Mai 2018 – Noctua präsentierte heute den lange erwarteten neuartigen 120x25mm A-Serie-Lüfter sowie den passenden NA-SMFA1 Adapter zur Montage auf 140mm-basierten Wasserkühlern. Beim NF-A12x25 handelt es sich um den ersten Lüfter, der aus Noctuas neuem Sterrox® LCP Material gefertigt wird. Dank innovativer aerodynamischer Konstruktionsmaßnahmen erzielt er ein bisher unerreichtes Leistungsniveau bei minimalem Betriebsgeräusch. Während der NF-A12x25 das neue Flaggschiff-Modell in Noctuas 120mm Palette bildet, wird der klassische NF-P12 in der schlankeren, preislich attraktiven Produktlinie redux neu aufgelegt.

„Der NF-A12x25 ist unser bis dato fortschrittlichster Lüfter. Die Entwicklung hat uns mehr als 4,5 Jahre gekostet und es war das mit Abstand schwierigste und komplexeste Entwicklungsprojekt, das wir bisher abschließen konnten,“ erklärt Lars Strömbäck (Noctua CTO): „Um unser Ziel zu erreichen, die beliebten Modelle NF-F12 und NF-S12A zu übertreffen, haben wir einen komplett anderen Ansatz gewählt und mussten einen Laufradspalt von nur 0.5mm verwenden, was zu zahlreichen neuen Herausforderungen in der Fertigung geführt hat.“

Während es sich bei den vielfach ausgezeichneten Modellen NF-F12 und NF-S12A um spezialisierte Lösungen für spezifische Anwendungsbereiche handelt, die entweder für maximalen statischen Druck oder für maximale Förderleistung optimiert wurden, ist der NF-A12x25 dem Grundkonzept der A-Serie folgend ein echter Alleskönner: Er erzielt in allen gängigen Anwendungsgebieten hervorragende Resultate – ganz gleich, ob es um förderleistungsintensive Anwendungen mit niedrigem Gegendruck wie Gehäusebelüftung oder um druckintensive Anwendungen mit hohem Luftwiderstand wie Kühlkörper und Radiatoren geht. In der Praxis übertrifft der NF-A12x25 nicht nur die Leistung des NF-F12 auf 120mm-basierten Wasserkühlungs-Radiatoren. Vielmehr kann er in Kombination mit den neuen, optionalen NA-SFMA1 Adapterrahmen selbst die Leistung vieler 140mm Lüfter auf 140mm-basierten Systemen überflügeln!

Einer der Eckpfeiler der überlegenen Leistung des NF-A12x25 ist der beispiellos enge Laufradspalt (Distanz zwischen Blattspitzen und Innenseite des Rahmens) von nur 0.5mm. Diese hochambitionierte Konstruktion ermöglicht einen noch effizienteren Betrieb bei steigendem Staudruck wie auf Kühlern und Radiatoren, weil weniger Leckströme zwischen Rotor und Rahmen entstehen. Die bei der Herstellung eines Lüfters mit einem so engen Laufradspalt auftretenden Schwierigkeiten konnten erst durch die Verwendung von Noctuas neuem Sterrox®-Material bewältigt werden, das zur Familie der Flüssigkristallpolymere (engl. Liquid-Crystal Polymer, LCP) zählt und über extreme Zugfestigkeit, einen besonders niedrigen thermischen Ausdehnungskoeffizienten und exzellente Dimensionsstabilität verfügt.

„Wir haben noch nie derart viel Entwicklungsaufwand in einen einzelnen Lüfter investiert, sowohl was die Feinabstimmung der aerodynamischen Konstruktion als auch was die Bereiche Materialforschung und Fertigung betrifft“, sagt Roland Mossig (Noctua CEO): „Es galt viele Hürden zu überwinden, aber nun sind wir stolz auf das Endergebnis und zuversichtlich, dass sich der NF-A12x25 zu einer neuen Referenz im Bereich leiser 120mm Premium-Lüfter entwickeln wird!“

Der NF-A12x25 wird in einer 4-pin PWM Version für automatische Geschwindigkeitsregelung, einer 3-Pin FLX Version mit Low-Noise-Adaptern für drei unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeitseinstellungen sowie einer praktisch lautlosen 3-Pin ULN (Ultra-Low-Noise) Version verfügbar sein. Während der NF-A12x25 das neue Flaggschiff-Modell in Noctuas 120mm Palette bildet, wird der klassische NF-P12 in die schlankere, preisgünstigere Produktlinie redux überführt. Er ist von nun an in 4-Pin PWM Versionen mit 1700 und 1300rpm sowie in 3-Pin Versionen mit 1300 und 900rpm erhältlich.

NF-A12x25 weitere Informationen
Leistungsvergleich zum NF-F12 und NF-S12A
Technische Hintergründe und Herausforderungen bei der Fertigung
Interview mit Lars Strömbäck (Noctua CTO)
Welcher 120mm Lüfter ist der richtige für mich?

Detailierte Spezifikationen und Fotos
NF-A12x25 PWM
NF-A12x25 FLX
NF-A12x25 ULN
NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM
NF-P12 redux-1300 PWM
NF-P12 redux-1300
NF-P12 redux-900
NA-SFMA1

Preise und Verfügbarkeit Sämtliche neue Modelle sind bereits auf Amazon erhältlich und in Kürze auch im Fachhandel verfügbar:
Amazon.com
Amazon.ca
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.de
Amazon.es
Amazon.fr
Amazon.it

Die empfohlenen Verkaufspreise lauten wie folgt:
NF-A12x25 (alle Versionen): EUR 29.90 / USD 29.90
NF-P12 redux (alle Versionen): EUR 13.90 / USD 13.90
NA-SFMA1: EUR 11.90 / USD 11.90






Über Noctua
Noctuas in Österreich designte Premium-Kühlungskomponenten sind weltweit für ihre superbe Laufruhe, hervorragende Leistung und ausgezeichnete Qualität bekannt. Kühler und Lüfter von Noctua haben mehr als 6000 Empfehlungen und Auszeichnungen führender Hardware-Webseiten und Magazine erhalten und werden rund um den Globus von hunderttausendenden zufriedenen Kunden eingesetzt.