heading

NT-H2 is the further improved second generation of Noctua’s award-winning hybrid thermal compound. Combining the iconic NT-H1’s proven features, superb ease-of-use and renowned long-term stability with a novel, fine-tuned formula of micro particles for even better thermal performance, NT-H2 is an enthusiast-grade paste for the highest demands. Whether it’s air- or water-based cooling, CPU or GPU applications, overclocking or silent systems: NT-H2 will consistently deliver outstanding results and thanks to the included cleaning wipes, it is just as easy to remove as to apply.
NT-H2 further reading:
button Performance comparison NT-H1 vs. NT-H2
button How to apply NT-H2 on smaller-sized CPUs (e.g. Intel LGA1150, LGA1151, LGA1155, LGA1156)
button How to apply NT-H2 on medium-sized CPUs (e.g. AMD AM4, Intel LGA2011 & LGA2066)
button How to apply NT-H2 on larger-sized CPUs (e.g. AMD TR4, Intel LGA3647)
button How to clean thermal paste using Noctua’s NA-CW1 cleaning wipes
Details
Based on the award-winning NT-H1

Based on the award-winning NT-H1

NT-H2 is based on Noctua’s renowned NT-H1, which has received more than 150 awards and recommendations from international hardware websites and magazines. Chosen again and again by overclockers and enthusiast users worldwide, NT-H1 has established itself as a benchmark for premium-quality thermal interface materials (TIMs).
Next-generation performance

Next-generation performance

Further improving the award-winning NT-H1, NT-H2 uses a new, fine-tuned mixture of metal oxide micro-particles for even lower thermal resistance and reduced bond-line thickness at typical mounting pressures. This allows it to achieve even better performance in most application scenarios.
Easy to apply

Easy to apply

Thanks to its excellent spreading properties, there is no need to manually spread NT-H2 before installing the cooler: Simply apply some paste onto the CPU (see instructions for details), put on the heatsink and you’re ready to go!
Easy to clean with included wipes

Easy to clean with included wipes

The 3.5g pack of NT-H2 includes three large NA-CW1 cleaning wipes that are pre-moistened with an isopropyl alcohol mixture and make it child’s play to remove: Simply wipe off the paste from the CPU and the base of the cooler using one of the wipes and you’re done!
Optional NA-SCW1 set for power users

Optional NA-SCW1 set for power users

Power users who take off and install their coolers frequently can purchase the optional NA-SCW1 set that contains 20 pieces of the NA-CW1 cleaning wipes, which are ideal for removing NT-H2 from the heat-spreader of the CPU and the contact surface of the heatsink.
Not electrically conductive, non-corroding

Not electrically conductive, non-corroding

While some high-end thermal compounds and pads are risky to use due to their electrical conductivity or corroding properties, there’s no risk of short-circuits with NT-H2 and it’s completely safe to use with any type of CPU cooler, regardless of whether it’s made from copper or aluminium and whether it’s nickel-plated or not.
Excellent long-term stability

Excellent long-term stability

NT-H2 unique formula is highly stable over time, even after longer periods of usage. It can be stored at room temperature for at least 3 years and due to the compound’s exceptional curing, bleeding, dry-out and thermal cycling characteristics, it can be used on the CPU for 5 years or more.
No break-in or burn-in required

No break-in or burn-in required

Some thermal compounds need a longer break-in period or cure time until they reach their full performance and some thermal pads must undergo a dedicated burn-in process. By contrast, NT-H2 is ready to go right away and doesn’t require any special preparations.
3.5g package for 3-20 applications

3.5g package for 3-20 applications

Sufficient for around 3-20 applications (depending on the size of the CPU or GPU, e.g. around 3 applications for large CPUs such as TR4 and around 20 for small CPUs such as LGA1151), the classic 3.5g packaging size is ideal for most users who only install coolers every now and then.
NT-H2 3.5g
General
Specification
Weight
3.5 g
Volume
1,2 ml
Density
2.81 g/cm³
Colour
Grey
Recommended storage time (before use)
up to 3 years
Recommended usage time (on the CPU)
up to 5 years
Recommended storage temperature
room temperature
Operating temperature
-50 to 200°C
Scope of delivery
    3x NA-CW1 cleaning wipes
NT-H2 3.5g
03.03.2019 // ProfesionalReview.com
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Respecto a las pruebas y sus resultados, vemos una trayectoria ascendente en cuando a prestaciones, situando su NT-H1 al nivel de la MX4 y superándola en dos grados con su NT-H2. Con esta tendencia podríamos suponer que, a temperaturas mayores, obtendremos un descenso de grados algo más elevado con este nuevo compuesto. Recordemos que el banco de pruebas no es para nada del montón, con hardware de primeras marcas y rendimiento top. Finalmente debemos hablar de precios, el compuesto NT-H1 podremos encontrarlo por un precio de 8 y 15 euros en función de la cantidad, y el NT-H2 por un precio de 13 y 25 euros. La caja de toallitas saldría por unos 8 euros. Destacamos que NT-H2 incluye toallitas en el paquete, y por nuestra parte es un producto más que recomendable, aunque algo elevado en precio.
Test verdict: "Los resultados arrojan unos resultados muy similares en todas ellas, destacando sobre las demás el rendimiento de la NT-H2 a altas temperaturas, proporcionando hasta dos grados menos que las otras pastas térmicas. Así que apreciamos una mejora notable respecto a la NT-H1, la mejora de los materiales utilizados y una mayor densidad propician el intercambio de temperaturas hacia el disipador." (Miguel Ángel Navas Carrera, ProfesionalReview.com)
11.03.2019 // PC Update
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Nous avons testé ces pâtes sur deux processeurs. Un Core i3-8100, un quad core qui équivaut à de nombreux CPU milieu de gamme de ces dernières années comme l’i5- 6400 par exemple. Suivi d’un Core i9-9900K overclocké à 5,1 GHz pour ses 8 cores à la fois, les deux refroidis sous un Noctua NH-U12S, la tour 120 mm de référence. Sur le Core i3, nous avons relevé 52,3°C avec la NT-H2, c’est un peu mieux que les 53,1°C de l’Arctic MX-4 et 53,2°C de la NT-H1, mais l’écart reste inférieur à un degré Celsius. Avec l’i9-9900K overclocké, l’écart se creuse un peu avec 76,2°C pour la NT-H2, 77,4°C pour la NT-H1 et 77,6°C pour l’Arctic MX-4.
Test verdict: "La NT-H2 est meilleure que son ainée, sensiblement même si l’on tient compte de la diffi culté à progresser en la matière." (Thomas Olivaux, PC Update No. 100)
08.03.2019 // APHNetworks.com
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Noctua provides clear instructions for using their thermal paste with various CPUs and their sizes, which is quite helpful. When it comes to performance, we do see the NT-H2 pull out a victory, albeit a small one, with it keeping one degree cooler than the rest of the competition. As for the cleaning wipes, the Noctua NA-SCW1 is a wipe that is easy to clean with and sufficient in doing what you expect. Its large size means users can fold this sheet around to clean off all of the necessary hardware with a single sheet. Obviously, it is more of a convenience product, but it does still work really well and simplifies the cleaning process.
Test verdict: "Noctua has built upon the legacy the original paste has left. Noctua offers a paste that is both effective in cooling and easy to apply." (Aaron Lai, APHNetworks.com)
05.03.2019 // IN4.pl
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Dla obu produktów przydzielam więc odznaczenie naszej rekomendacji, Wy możecie dokonać wyboru, zgodnego z waszymi potrzebami. Dla niewysilonych procesorów z pewnością wciąż wystarczy doskonale nam znana, tańsza pasta NT-H1, natomiast entuzjaści szybkich jednostek obliczeniowych i wyciskania z nich ostatnich soków (przez OC), powinni głębiej sięgnąć do kieszeni i zainwestować w model NT-H2, dostając dodatkowo w zestawie chusteczki czyszczące.
Test verdict: "Dla obu produktów przydzielam więc odznaczenie naszej rekomendacji" (Sławomir Kwasowski, IN4.pl)
04.03.2019 // SvětHardware.cz
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Výsledky se dají shrnout prostě tak, že od nové pasty lze očekávat o jeden až dva stupně nižší teploty, což udává i sám výrobce a jiné testy, přičemž více to bude opravdu až při vyšších teplotách a TDP. Záleží ale samozřejmě na mnoha faktorech, na prostředí, hardwaru, přítlaku chladiče i na provedení instalace.
Test verdict: "NT-H1 je dlouhými roky prověřená teplovodivá pasta a pokud NT-H2 podává ještě lepší výkon, chybu jejím výběrem neuděláte." (Jan Vítek, SvětHardware.cz)
01.03.2019 // HWready.it
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Abbiamo condotto i nostri test utilizzando un AIO Asus ROG ryujin 240 MM, che abbiamo recensito QUI. I nostri test sono stati eseguiti con un 1800x a 4 ghz. Con la H1 abbiamo avuto 58 gradi massimo di temperatura, mentre con la H2 siamo scesi a 56.5 gradi. Un ottimo risultato. Noctua dichiara un miglioramento nelle temperature che può arrivare fino a 2 gradi. Inoltre la H2 risulta più semplice da spalmare e da rimuovere.
Test verdict: "Con la H1 abbiamo avuto 58 gradi massimo di temperatura, mentre con la H2 siamo scesi a 56.5 gradi. Un ottimo risultato." (Mauro Santoro, HWready.it)
26.02.2019 // GinjFo.com
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Noctua propose avec cette NT-H2 une pâte thermique de qualité. Elle se présente en tube de 3,5 ou 10 grammes avec en bundle des lingettes nettoyantes. Elle se montre facile à manipuler et ne coule pas. A l’usage, face à sa grande sœur, la NT-H1, la différence n’est pas énorme avec notre Core i9-9900K. Elle devient un peu plus importante avec un processeur au TDP de 130 Watts. De manière globale, il est possible de gagner entre 1 et 2°C selon la configuration et la présence ou non d’un overclocking.
Test verdict: "Cette NT-H2 reprend l’ADN de son ainée, la NT-H1. Elle se montre facile à manipuler et à appliquer. A l’usage, les gains sont là. Il n’y a pas de révolution mais de quoi gagner entre 1 et 2°C selon la situation et la configuration. Le bundle est intéressant avec des lingettes nettoyantes efficaces." (Jérôme Gianoli, GinjFo.com)
25.02.2019 // Rendszerigény.hu
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

A tartósságot sajnos nem állt módunkban kipróbálni, de azt, hogy első használat után mennyit hoz az NT-H2 az NT-H1-hez képest, azt igen. Az Intel Core i7-8700K processzorunkat egy 280 mm-es AIO folyadékhűtéssel hűtöttük és közben az AIDA 64 rendszerdiagnosztikai programmal monitoroztunk. A különbség mindössze 1 °C, de azok számára, akiknek igen is fontos az alacsony CPU hőmérséklet igen is sokat jelent.
Test verdict: "Akinek viszont még a tízed fokok is számítanak, bátran vegye meg az újdonságokat, hisz az egyik legjobb hővezető pasztát tudhatja majd magáénak a piacon." (Kocsis Bence, Rendszerigény.hu)
25.02.2019 // Conseil Config
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Noctua nous propose comme toujours des produits qui font haut de gamme du début à la fin, même la boite y passe pour de la pâte thermique. Comme nous le disait bien le constructeur (et c'est une bonne chose), le gain n'est pas monstrueux entre la NT-H1 qui circulent depuis des années et la NT-H2, mais il est possible de perdre 1 à 2 degrés sur de gros overclocking.
Test verdict: "Est-ce que le tarif est justifié pour Mr Tout-le-monde ? Non mais les overclockers aggueris seront surement intéressés !" (Christian Marchini, Conseil Config)
20.02.2019 // PCEkspert.com
test.gif

NT-H2 3.5g Review

Paste smo i usporedili na procesoru i7-8700K koji je radio na standardnih 4.3 GHz na svim jezgrama i uz pomoć Noctuinog D15 hladnjaka. Procesor smo opteretili OCCT-ovim testom u trajanju od sat vremena i iz HWInfo64 aplikacije pročitali temperature na najtoplijim jezgrama. U oba je slučaja to bila jezgra broj tri. Zanimljivo je za pogledati prosječnu maksimalnu temperaturu na svim jezgrama koja za H1 iznosi 68.66°C, a za H2 67.83°C.
Test verdict: "Noctua je izbacivanjem NT-H2 paste na tržište entuzijastima, overclockerima i naravno svima ostalima konačno donijela konkurentan proizvod i odličnu zamjenu za zastarjelu H1 pastu. H2 se lakše nanosi i lakše čisti, a kao što smo vidjeli u testu donosi i nešto nižu temperaturu." (Krešimir Matanović, PCEkspert.com)

You can either buy from our local sales partners or directly from us via our official Amazon and eBay stores:

eBay.com
eBay.de

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Installation Manual (PDF)

Information Sheet (PDF)

How should I remove and clean NT-H2?

Use the included NA-CW1 wipes or a paper towel moistened with isopropyl alcohol to clean. If slight residues remain after cleaning with NA-CW1 wipes, you can use a paper towel or tissue to polish. However, such residues are of visual concern only and will not impair performance. Also see our video tutorial on how to use NA-CW1 wipes. If you need further NA-CW1 wipes, please purchase the NA-SCW1 set (20 pieces).

Which method of application do you recommend for your thermal compounds?

Both our NT-H1 and NT-H2 are very easy to apply and generally don’t need to be spread out manually on the CPU. However, our recommendations differ slightly from paste to paste and from CPU size to CPU size, so please refer to our product manuals and video tutorials for detailed recommendations:
  • NT-H1 manual
  • NT-H1 video tutorials
  • NT-H2 manual
  • NT-H2 video tutorials
  • Why doesn’t Noctua specify thermal conductivity or thermal resistance of NT-H1 and NT-H2?

    While there are some standardised methods for testing the thermal conductivity or thermal resistance of thermal compounds, they do not always guarantee comparable results. What's more, many vendors have started to claim thermal resistance or thermal conductivity specifications that appear simply unrealistic in the light of standardised testing. Last but not least, real world performance of thermal compounds is affected by various other factors such as spreading properties, bond line thickness, mounting pressure or contact quality, so even if there was a common and reliable industry standard for testing the thermal conductivity or resistance of thermal pastes, it would not give customers a clear indication regarding the performance they can expect. For these reasons, Noctua has chosen not to publish specifications for thermal conductivity and resistance. Taking part in a game of claiming exaggerated specifications is not an option for us and we neither want to give specifications that, in the context of this practice, could appear misleading. Instead, we prefer to let independent reviewers judge the performance of our thermal compounds versus competing solutions in order to help customers in making an informed buying decision. Please refer to our standardised comparison of NT-H1 vs NT-H2 and to our review database for independent tests.

    Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!