heading

Continuing the legacy of Noctua’s classic NH-U-series, which has received more than a thousand awards and recommendations from international hardware websites and magazines, the NH-U14S has become a benchmark for high-end 140mm single tower coolers. The TR4-SP3 version is a tailored custom model for AMD’s TR4/SP3 platform (Ryzen Threadripper / Epyc) and features a larger contact surface as well as the latest SecuFirm2™ mounting system for socket TR4/SP3. Topped off with the renowned quiet NF-A15 PWM 140mm fan, Noctua’s proven NT-H1 thermal compound and a full 6-year manufacturer’s warranty, the NH-U14S TR4-SP3 forms a complete premium-quality solution that combines maximum performance and superb acoustics for enthusiast-grade TR4/SP3 systems.
Please note that the NH-U14S TR4-SP3 is a dedicated version for the AMD TR4/SP3 socket. Due to its customised larger base, it cannot be used on any other sockets and is incompatible with Noctua’s standard mounting kits.
Details
Award-winning NH-U series

Award-winning NH-U series

The NH-U14S is the first 140mm model in Noctua's award-winning NH-U series. First introduced in 2005, the NH-U series has become a standard choice for premium quality quiet CPU coolers and won more than 400 awards and recommendations from leading international hardware websites and magazines.
Tailored custom version for TR4/SP3 (Ryzen Threadripper / Epyc)

Tailored custom version for TR4/SP3 (Ryzen Threadripper / Epyc)

At 70x56mm, the copper contact surface of the TR4-SP3 version is more than double the size of the standard model. Tailored to fit the enormous integrated heat-spreaders (IHS) of AMD’s TR4/SP3-based processors, this customised design allows for an optimal heat flow from the CPU over the base to the heatpipes and on to the cooling fins.
140mm size for maximum performance

140mm size for maximum performance

With six heatpipes, a fin surface area of more than 6000cm² and the large NF-A15 140mm fan, the NH-U14S TR4-SP3 provides a superior level of cooling performance that makes it ideal for the most high-end, enthusiast-grade TR4/SP3 systems.
NF-A15 140mm premium fan

NF-A15 140mm premium fan

Complying with Noctua’s AAO standard and featuring sophisticated aerodynamic design measures such as Flow Acceleration Channels, the NF-A15 has quickly built up a reputation as one of the best 140mm heatsink fans on the market.
PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

PWM support and Low-Noise Adaptor

The NF-A15 140mm fan supplied with the NH-U14S supports PWM for convenient automatic speed control through the mainboard. In addition, the maximum fan speed can be reduced from 1500 to 1200rpm using the supplied Low-Noise Adaptor for even quieter operation.
Anti-vibration pads and fan-clips for second NF-A15 (optional)

Anti-vibration pads and fan-clips for second NF-A15 (optional)

For users who want to achieve even better performance by adding a second, optional NF-A15 fan to create a push/pull setup, the NH-U14S includes fan clips and an extra set of custom-designed anti-vibration pads that allow to off-set the rear fan by 5mm to improve acoustics in dual-fan mode.*
SecuFirm2™ mounting system for TR4/SP3

SecuFirm2™ mounting system for TR4/SP3

Noctua’s SecuFirm2™ mounting systems have become synonymous with quality, safety and ease of use. The TR4-SP3 variant has been completely custom-designed for the new socket and is particularly easy to install: Put on the heatsink, fix the four spring-loaded screws and you’re done!
Offset mounting options for better PCIe clearance

Offset mounting options for better PCIe clearance

In order to assure optimal compatibility with SLI and CrossFire multi-GPU setups, the SecuFirm2™ mounting for TR4/SP3 makes it possible to offset the cooler by 3 or 6mm towards the upper edge of the motherboard, thereby increasing clearance of the top PCIe slot.
NT-H1 thermal compound

NT-H1 thermal compound

Having received more than 100 awards and recommendations from hardware journalists around the world, Noctua's NT-H1 is a proven professional grade TIM solution that provides minimum thermal resistance, excellent ease of use and outstanding reliability.
6-year manufacturer’s warranty

6-year manufacturer’s warranty

Noctua products are renowned for their impeccable quality and outstanding longevity. Like all Noctua fans, the supplied NF-A15 features an MTTF rating of more than 150.000 hours and the entire NH-U14S package comes with a full 6-year manufacturer's warranty.
NH-U14S TR4-SP3
General
Notes and warnings
Please note that the NH-U14S TR4-SP3 is a dedicated version for the AMD TR4/SP3 socket. Due to its customised larger base, it cannot be used on any other sockets and is incompatible with Noctua’s standard mounting kits.
Cooler Specification
Height (without fan)
165 mm
Width (without fan)
150 mm
Depth (without fan)
52 mm
Height (with fan)
165 mm
Width (with fan)
150 mm
Depth (with fan)
78 mm
Weight (without fan)
865 g
Weight (with fan/s)
1030 g
Material
Copper (base and heat-pipes), aluminium (cooling fins), soldered joints & nickel plating
Max. TDP
see TDP guide
Fan compatibility
140x150x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 140x140x25 (with 120mm mounting holes), 120x120x25
Scope of delivery
  • NF-A15 PWM premium fan
  • Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
  • NT-H1 high-grade thermal compound
  • SecuFirm2™ mounting kit
  • Anti-vibration pads and fan-clips for second NF-A15 (optional)
  • Noctua metal case-badge
Warranty
6 Years
FAN Specification
Model
Noctua NF-A15 PWM
Bearing
Max. Rotational Speed (+/- 10%)
1500 RPM
Max. Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%)
1200 RPM
Min. Rotational Speed (PWM, +/-20%)
300 RPM
Max. Acoustical Noise
24,6 dB(A)
Max. Acoustical Noise with L.N.A.
19,2 dB(A)
Input Power
1,56 W
Voltage Range
12 V
MTTF
> 150.000 h
NH-U14S TR4-SP3
SecuFirm2™ AMD TR4/SP3 installation
Video Reviews
The following video reviews have not been created by Noctua. Responsibility for the information and views expressed in the videos lies entirely with the authors.
language
language
language
language
17.10.2017 // Canard PC Hardware
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Noctua se distingue depuis des années par sa réactivité, son service client et par la qualité de fabrication irréprochable de ses produits. Ces nouveaux ventirads TR4 ne font pas exception.
Test verdict: "Peut-on réellement refroidir un tel monstre avec un ventirad à air et en silence? Noctua preuve que oui." (Samuel Demeulemeester, Canard PC Hardware N°34 Octobre 2017)
09.10.2017 // Techzone.ro
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Coolerele Noctua sunt bine cunoscute in lume, datorita performantelor deosebite dovedite de-a lungul timpului, pe toate platformele desktop. Astăzi, am pe birou variantele NH-U14S TR4-SP3, NH-U12S TR4-SP3, NH-U9 TR4-SP3, care au fost lansate special pentru procesoarele AMD Threadripper. Coolerele sunt iterații ale precedentelor variante, dar au primit 2 numere mai mari la picior si sufixul TR4-SP3.
Test verdict: "Testele au arata o performata excelenta, in special pentru NH-U14S, astfel ca Noctua își menține standardul si oferă utilizatorilor soluții, de răcire, foarte bune." (Daniel Neacsu, Techzone.ro)
06.10.2017 // Hardwaremax.net
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Wie man anhand der Messungen klar erkennen kann ist Fläche Trumpf und dementsprechend reihen sich die Kühler auch ein. Während bei unserer getesteten Mindestdrehzahl von 600 Umdrehungen alle Kühler in das Limit laufen, sehen die Werte ab 900 Umdrehungen zumindest schon einmal für den Noctua NH-U14S sehr gut aus. Ab 1200 Umdrehungen kommt auch der NH-U12S in Fahrt und kühlt den Prozessor adäquat ohne in das Limit zu laufen. Der Noctua NH-U9 konnte bei unserem Testsetup erst auf maximaler Drehzahl den Threadripper auf Temperatur halten.
Test verdict: "Der U14S ist im direkten Vergleich der mit Abstand leistungsfähigste Kühler. Er schafft es dabei auch den derzeit stromhungrigsten AMD Desktopprozessor bei 3850MHz auf Temperatur zu halten. Hierbei verbrauchte das Testsystem ca. 365 Watt an Strom. Ein Wert der diverse Gamingrechner verblassen lässt. Sollte also der Platz vorhanden sein, trifft man mit dem Noctua NH-U14S die derzeit beste Entscheidung. Durch seinen tadellosen Auftritt hat sich der U14S auch unseren Enthusiast Award verdient." (Markus Lakner, Hardwaremax.net)
05.10.2017 // mod-your-case.de
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Mit einem Blick auf das erzielte Testergebnis wird man schnell feststellen, dass der NH-U14S TR4-SP3 die Thermaltake Floe Ring RGB 360 AiO-Wasserkühlung, welche sich im Lieferumfang des Threadripper Media-Kits befindet, in den Schatten stellt. Wenn man sich einmal die Radiatorfläche von 360 mm anschaut, welche einem diese AiO-Wakü bietet, so kann man vor dem NH-U14S TR4-SP3 nur den Hut ziehen, denn die erreichte Kühlleistung ist nicht nur beachtlich, sondern wird auch bei einer angenehmen Geräuschkulisse erreicht. Für den Vergleich mit der herangezogenen AiO-Wakü muss jedoch noch erwähnt werden, dass die Bodenplatte hierbei nicht den gesamten Heatspreader bedeckt.
Test verdict: "Mit dem NH-U14S TR4-SP3 hat Noctua einen Kühler in sein Sortiment aufgenommen, welcher trotz seiner schlanken Bauform und einem einzelnen Lüfter eine sehr gute Leistung erzielt hat. Durch die erreichte Kühlleistung kann der Kühler auch problemlos auf einer übertakteten CPU eingesetzt werden, denn der Kühler stellt selbst eine 360-mm-AiO-Wasserkühlung (mit einer kleineren Bodenplatte) in den Schatten. Die Verarbeitung des Kühlers sowie auch des mitgelieferten Lüfters ist auf einem sehr hohen Niveau." (Patrick Seus, mod-your-case.de)
04.10.2017 // LegitReviews.com
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

The results from this benchmark were rather shocking as the Thermaltake Floe Triple Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition ($199.99 shipped) AIO CPU liquid cooler didn’t blow the Noctua coolers out of the water. The Thermaltake Floe Triple Riing RGB 360 had the lowest idle temperature by 1C, but the load temps were nearly 2C higher than the Noctua NH-U14S. These Noctua air coolers do a pretty good job!
Test verdict: "It is shocking how well these three high-end heatsinks from Noctua handle AMD’s TR4 and SP3 sockets for their latest Ryzen Threadripper (X399) and EPYC platforms." (Nathan Kirsch, LegitReviews.com)
30.09.2017 // Hardwareluxx.de
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Unter den Luftkühlern ist die Sache klar: Das größte und teuerste ist auch das leistungsstärkste Modell. Noctuas NH-U14S TR4-SP3 setzt sich klar an die Spitze und bietet auch jenseits des Basistakts noch ordentlich Reserven. Der Luftkühler ist dabei wie seine kleineren und leistungsschwächeren Modelle bestens verarbeitet. Alle drei können angenehm leise betrieben werden und sind denkbar einfach zu montieren.
Test verdict: "Weil Noctuas NH-U14S TR4-SP3 insgesamt die überzeugendste Vorstellung unter den Luftkühlern abliefert, zeichnen wir ihn mit unserem Excellent-Hardware-Award aus." (Philipp Moosdorf, Hardwareluxx.de)
28.09.2017 // io-tech.fi
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Ryzen Threadripperin TDP-arvo on vakiona 180 wattia ja 1950X-malli toimi Prime95-rasituksessa kaikkien 16 ytimen osalta noin 3275-3400 MHz:n välimaastoon ja käyttöjännite 1,0625-1,08125 volttiin. Noctuan NH-U14S:llä prosessori toimi noin 55-asteisena eli kaksi astetta viileämpänä kuin Thermaltaken AIO-nestekierrolla. Emolevyn virransyöttö puolestaan toimi U14S:llä seitsemän astetta viileämpänä 140 mm:n tuulettimen kierrättämän ilmavirran ansiosta.
Test verdict: "Testijoukon selvästi paras jäähdytysratkaisu Ryzen Threadripperille oli Noctuan suurikokoisin NH-U14S-cooleri, joka pesi testeissä Thermaltaken 360 mm:n jäähdyttimellä varustetun AIO-nestekierron niin jäähdytystehon kuin melun suhteen. 80 euron hintainen NH-U14S on varma valinta Threadripperin kaveriksi." (Sampsa Kurri, io-tech.fi)
22.09.2017 // Linus Tech Tips
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Test verdict: "The Noctua ran a few degrees cooler, so we have to award it the win by technical knockout!" (Linus Sebastian, Linus Tech Tips)
21.09.2017 // TechTesters
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Voor wat overclockwerk richting de praktische limiet van de meeste Ryzen CPU’s (3,9-4,0 GHz) lijkt de NH-U14S de meest logische, want die is niet alleen nipt wat koeler op stock speeds maar neemt ook een grotere voorsprong wanneer het voltage omhoog gaat; de NH-U9S loopt met een voltage van 1,3-1,35V duidelijk verder op en een behuizing met degelijke airflow lijkt dan wel het uitgangspunt. Ook met het oog op een nog wat warmere Threadripper 1950X met OC lijkt de NH-U14S wel het pad om te volgen; de andere twee kunnen het zeker ook, maar als de verwachting dan is dat het prijsverschil erg beperkt blijkt tussen de NH-U14S en de NH-U12S terwijl we al over minimaal 1200 euro aan CPU en moederbord praten dan lijkt dat mij eigenlijk geen overweging meer. Aan de andere kant zien we ook voldoende potentie dat een NH-U12S en zelfs de NH-U9S op een 1950X geen problemen gaan hebben als je ze niet hard op hun staart gaat trappen, dus wanneer de hoogte in je case beperkt is is het fijn te weten dat er tenminste twee compactere torens zijn die zo’n CPU wel bijbenen. Wellicht zelfs dat er dan alsnog wat OC ruimte in blijkt te zitten, iets wat ik vooraf als onmogelijk had geschat.
Test verdict: "Hoe dan ook, ik ben heel erg positief verrast door alle drie de koelers op deze toch hele dikke CPU. Threadripper bouwers hoeven zich volgens mij geen zorgen te maken met oplossingen als dit tot hun beschikking." (Stephan Overbeeke, TechTesters)
14.09.2017 // PC Ekspert
test.gif

NH-U14S TR4-SP3 Review

Za istih tih 70 € se može kupiti puno bolji NH-U12S TR4-SP3 koji je dobar i po pitanju performansi i po pitanju buke. Najtiši je na testu, a čak je pod kakvom takvom kontrolom držao i overclockirani 1920X. Za ovaj hladnjak je topla preporuka kupiti još jedan F12 ventilator jer se to osjeti na performansama. Najmoćniji NH-U14S TR4-SP3 je dobar i za overclocking, kada mu također dobro dođe još jedan ventilator. Cijena mu je oko 80 €. Kvaliteta izrade sva tri hladnjaka je kao i uvijek na najvišem nivou, i svakako opravdava cijenu. Dva veća hladnjaka nemaju problema ni s kompatibilnošću, a pozitivno je što se mogu pomicati od PCIe slota prema vrhu ploče.
Test verdict: "Noctua je još jednom iskoristila svoj uspješan recept i stvorila tri hladnjaka za AMD-ove nove TR4 i SP3 sockete." (Krešimir Matanović, PC Ekspert)

Installation Manual (PDF)

Information Sheet (PDF)

FAQs

Why doesn't the base of Noctua coolers have a polished, mirror like finish?

How can I check whether my case is wide/high enough for the cooler?

How big is the NH-U14S and how much clearance does it provide for RAM and chipset coolers?

I’ve used all the NT-H1 thermal compound that came with the cooler, can you send me more?

Can I install a 140mm fan with a square frame (e.g. NF-A14)?

Which sockets are supported or can be supported using upgrade kits?

Should I take the cooler off before transporting my system?

Does the NF-A15 PWM that comes with Noctua coolers run at a different speed (1500rpm) than the retail model (1200rpm)?

I get a CPU fan error despite the fan is running!

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

Can I upgrade my existing Noctua cooler to socket TR4 or SP3?

The supplied y-cable is missing a wire at one of the two connectors, is it faulty?

I get a CPU fan error using my Noctua PWM fan, is it faulty?

My Noctua PWM fan starts to spin when the PC boots but then stops, what is wrong?

My Noctua PWM fan runs at a much higher minimum speed than advertised, what is wrong?

I'm experiencing fan speed issues with my motherboard from Supermicro, what can I do?

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Why doesn't the base of Noctua coolers have a polished, mirror like finish?

As most of today's PC enthusiasts use high-viscosity thermal compounds, the contact surface of Noctua coolers is optimised for use with this type of pastes. The micro-grooves at the contact surface ensure that high-viscosity thermal compounds are dispersed to a uniform thin layer across the whole contact area and that no air pockets remain between the cooler and the CPU. With a polished, mirror like surface, the risk of uneven dispersion is much higher. As too thick layers of thermal paste and air pockets drastically deteriorate heat transmission, the micro-grooves are is of vital importance to the overall cooling performance of Noctua coolers when used with today's high-viscosity thermal pastes.

How can I check whether my case is wide/high enough for the cooler?

Most case manufacturers provide specifications for maximum CPU cooler height/clearance. Please refer to these specifications in order to verify that the cooler will fit the case. If no specifications are available, please contact the case manufactuer or measure the distance from the motherboard tray to the side panel (tower cases) or top panel (desktop cases). If this distance is bigger than the height of the cooler + 15mm (mainboard spacers + mainboard + CPU), the height/width of your case should be sufficient.

How big is the NH-U14S and how much clearance does it provide for RAM and chipset coolers?

Please refer to the following drawing for the exact measurements and clearance for RAM and chipset coolers:

U14S

I’ve used all the NT-H1 thermal compound that came with the cooler, can you send me more?

Please kindly note that the NT-H1 thermal compound supplied with our coolers is a consumable item so our manufacturer’s warranty does not include providing additional thermal compound. You can purchase NT-H1 from our resellers.

Can I install a 140mm fan with a square frame (e.g. NF-A14)?

No. Square 140mm fans like the NF-A14 would cause compatibility issues in many configurations and use a hole spacing of 124.5mm. The cooler's fan clips are designed for 105mm hole spacing as used by round 140/150mm and square 120mm fans.

Which sockets are supported or can be supported using upgrade kits?

Please refer to our socket compatibility chart.

Should I take the cooler off before transporting my system?

As it is not possible to reliably calculate or control the forces that act upon a system during transport (e.g. in shipping), we generally recommend, for safety reasons, taking the cooler off. Noctua cannot be held responsible for any damage that may arise due to excessive stress during transport if you keep the heatsink installed.

Does the NF-A15 PWM that comes with Noctua coolers run at a different speed (1500rpm) than the retail model (1200rpm)?

Yes, the NF-A15 PWM bundled with our heatsinks is specified to run at 1500rpm (see cooler specifications for details) and the retail model is specified to run at 1200rpm (see fan specifications for details). The 1200rpm retail model is ideal for setting up push/pull configurations in combination with the coolers’ 1500rpm stock fan because the combination of the 1500 and 1200rpm models provides a better balance of performance and noise than the combination of two 1500rpm versions. On dual-tower coolers such as the NH-D15S, we recommend to run the 1500rpm version in the center and the 1200rpm version on the front. On single-tower coolers such as the NH-U14S, we recommend to run the 1500rpm version on the front and the 1200rpm version on the back of the cooler. The NA-YC1 y-cable supplied with the retail fan can be used in order to control both fans via one PWM fan header. In this case, both fans will scale individually according to the PWM duty cycle supplied by the motherboard, e.g. they will run at ~1500/1200 respectively at 100% duty cycle, ~750/600rpm at 50% duty cycle, etc. Both at 100% and lower speeds, the speed difference between the fans reduces resonance phenomena and thus helps to achieve the best balance of performance and noise.

I get a CPU fan error despite the fan is running!

Some mainboards display a CPU fan error when the fan speed falls below a certain threshold, e.g. 900rpm. If you want to run the fan below this speed (e.g. using the supplied U.L.N.A.), please adjust the threshold in the BIOS or disable CPU fan error warning.

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

Dust: Fans and heatsinks inside computer cases tend to accumulate dust over longer periods of usage. In order to maintain maximum performance, please clean your fan and heatsink regularly. For cleaning, please first remove the fan from the heatsink and clean it using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please do not use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan and do not put the fan under running water as water residues inside the motor may lead to short circuits. Please also note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty. Before reinstalling the fan, clean the heatsink itself with a duster or vacuum cleaner. Do not use water to clean the cooler. Finally put the fan back on and connect it to your motherboard fan header or fan controller.
Thermal paste residues: Whenever you take off the heatsink from the CPU, we recommend to clean the CPU as well as the base of the cooler before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler. You can either just wipe the base and the CPU clean with a dry, lint-free tissue or, for more thorough cleaning, use a lint-free tissue moistened with either a mild solution of washing-up liquid or isopropyl alcohol. Do not put the cooler or CPU under running water. Note that both the base of the heatsink and the CPU should be dry, free from residues of thermal compound and free from grease before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler.

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

Please refer to our TDP guide for information on maximum recommended TDP and heat dissipation.

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

Please refer to our TDP guide in order to select the cooler that offers the best cooling performance at a given height.

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

Please refer to the installation manual and our video installation guides for detailed instructions on how to install the cooler.

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

All screws should be tightened gently until they stop without using excessive force. Please do not exceed the following values for maximum tightening torque:
Screw typeMax. torque
NM-SSC1 screws for fixing the fastening brackets to the base of the heatsink0.5 Nm
NM-ITS1 thumb screws for fixing Intel mounting bars0.5 Nm
NM-ALS1 screws for fixing AMD mounting bars0.6 Nm
Spring-loaded screws for fixing the heatsink to the mounting bars0.6 Nm

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

Most motherboard vendors allow their overclocking-enabled products (e.g. those with Intels X- or Z-series chipsets) to run the processor at increased clock speeds by default, without requiring any user action at all. Since TDP (Thermal Design Power) limits are usually also disabled by default, this leads to the CPU exceeding the rated TDP to a varying degree, depending on the used applications and their workloads. Due to the increased heat output of the CPU, you may see higher CPU temperatures than expected.

In order to find out if your motherboard is overclocking your processor by default, please enter the UEFI BIOS and select the “advanced” or “overclocking” menu. There you should be able to find options such as “MultiCore Enhancement” (options: enabled/disabled), “CPU Ratio Apply Mode” (options: all/per core) or similar. To disable the automatic overclocking, adjust the settings either to “disabled” or “per core” and make sure that the individual multipliers match the original specifications.

In doubt, please contact your motherboard vendor for detailed instructions on how to disable this feature.

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

Systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands often use motherboards which differ slightly from the specifications issued by Intel and AMD. While those changes are usually subtle, they can lead to compatibility issues with coolers that were built to comply with these specifications.

Even in case the cooler is mechanically compatible and can be installed, other issues can occur, e.g. proprietary fan connectors, BIOS errors due to a low fan speed, shutdowns, etc. Some of these problems can be avoided with some technical knowledge, but especially BIOS related issues can often not be resolved.

Due to the large number of possible issues that cannot be resolved with different mounting parts alone, Noctua does not officially support systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands.

Can I upgrade my existing Noctua cooler to socket TR4 or SP3?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to upgrade existing Noctua heatsinks to support the AMD TR4 and SP3 sockets for Ryzen Threadripper (X399) and Epyc CPUs. TR4/SP3 CPUs have much bigger heatspreaders (as compared to e.g. LGA2066 or AM4 processors) and the contact surfaces of standard Noctua heatsinks would cover only about half of these heatspreaders, which would result in insufficient cooling performance. On top of that, the heatpipes of bigger cooler models like the NH-D15 or NH-D15S would completely block the RAM slots on many TR4/SP3 motherboards. For this reason, Noctua has introduced the new NH-U14S TR4-SP3, NH-U12S TR4-SP3 and NH-U9 TR4-SP3 cooler models that feature bigger contact surfaces and have been tailored to fit TR4 and SP3 systems. Please choose these models for AMD Ryzen Threadripper and Epyc systems.

The supplied y-cable is missing a wire at one of the two connectors, is it faulty?

No. As mainboards can process only one rpm-signal per fan header, it would cause problems if the cable transmitted rpm-signals of both fans. For this reason, one of the two connectors does not have an rpm wire and only the fan on the other connector will transmit an rpm signal. Automatic speed control of both fans will work independently from the second fan’s rpm signal.

I get a CPU fan error using my Noctua PWM fan, is it faulty?

Noctua PWM fans feature a minimum speed of 300rpm to allow for ultra quiet operation when your CPU is at idle state and doesn’t require higher cooling performance. Some mainboards display error messages such as “CPU fan error” during the booting process when the fan speed is below a certain level. If you get such error messages using your Noctua PWM fan and if such options are available in your BIOS, please either adjust the minimum fan speed monitoring limit to 200rpm or increase the minimum PWM duty cycle. If your BIOS doesn’t offer these options, please disable CPU fan errors. For detailed information on BIOS fan settings, please consult your mainoard’s manual or contact your mainboard manufacturer.

My Noctua PWM fan starts to spin when the PC boots but then stops, what is wrong?

Some mainboards feature 4-pin fan headers that actually don‘t use a PWM signal on Pin 4 to control the fan speed but rather reduce the voltage on Pin 2 (like a standard 3-pin fan header). In this case, it may occur that the mainboard reduces the voltage so much that the fan stops. Please refer to your mainboard manual to check whether or not your mainboard has 4-pin fan headers that control the fan speed by reducing voltage on Pin 2 rather than by changing the PWM duty cycle on Pin 4:

4 pin fan header types

Note that mainboard manufacturers use different terms to indicate that Pin 4 is not being used for PWM control (e.g. “+5V”, “VCC” or “NC”), but if one of these terms is used, you can be sure that the fan header does not support PWM. If Pin 4 is described as “Speed Control” or “PWM” or the like, you can be sure that the fan header supports PWM.

Unfortunately, the description of Pin 2 is not always a clear indication as some manufacturers use terms such as “Fan PWR” or “Power” for both types of fan headers. However, if Pin 2 is described as “Speed Control”, you can also be sure that the fan header does not support PWM based speed control. If Pin 2 is described as “+12V”, this is a clear indication that the fan header supports PWM.

Please also note that in some cases, the descriptions of the pin layouts in the mainboard manuals may not be correct and some models actually allow you to switch the fan headers from voltage control mode to PWM control mode in the BIOS even though the pin descriptions do not indicate PWM support. We thus recommend to look for these options in the BIOS before taking other measures. In case of doubt, please contact your mainboard manufacturer.



To resolve the issue, you can:

  1. Choose a higher fan speed profile in the BIOS (e.g. „normal“ instead of „silent“, etc.) or deactivate automatic fan speed control and use a Low-Noise Adaptor instead.

  2. Use the mainboard‘s fan speed control software or 3rd party tools like Speedfan to regulate the fan speed. Unlike BIOS based fan speed control, the supplied software usually checks whether the fan has stopped and increases voltage accordingly or at least offer more options to set up the fan properly.

  3. If your mainboard features other 4-pin fan headers that use PWM for speed control, you can run multiple fans from these headers using Y-split cables. Make sure not to exceed the specified maximum power draw of the fan headers (usually 10-12W) though.

My Noctua PWM fan runs at a much higher minimum speed than advertised, what is wrong?

The specified minimum speed refers to the speed at 20% PWM duty cycle. There can be several reasons why the fan doesn‘t go as low as indicated:

  1. Many mainboards do not go below 40%, 50% or even 60% PWM duty cycle on case fan headers. Please refer to your mainboard manual to verify whether the fan header actually goes down to 20% duty cycle. If that's not the case, in some cases you can use the fan speed control software supplied with your mainboard to overcome these limitations and reduce the fan speed even further. However, 3rd party tools like SpeedFan offer greater flexibility and better options to work around the limitations imposed by the mainboard vendors.

  2. Some mainboards feature 4-pin fan headers that actually don‘t use a PWM signal on Pin 4 to control the fan speed but rather reduce the voltage on Pin 2 (like a standard 3-pin fan header). As the fan speed at minimum voltage is usually higher than the speed at 20% PWM duty cycle, the fan can not reach as low minimum speeds under voltage control as under PWM control. Please refer to your mainboard manual to check whether or not your mainboard has 4-pin fan headers that control the fan speed by reducing voltage on Pin 2 rather than by changing the PWM duty cycle on Pin 4:

    4 pin fan header types

    Note that mainboard manufacturers use different terms to indicate that Pin 4 is not being used for PWM control (e.g. “+5V”, “VCC” or “NC”), but if one of these terms is used, you can be sure that the fan header does not support PWM. If Pin 4 is described as “Speed Control” or “PWM” or the like, you can be sure that the fan header supports PWM.

    Unfortunately, the description of Pin 2 is not always a clear indication as some manufacturers use terms such as “Fan PWR” or “Power” for both types of fan headers. However, if Pin 2 is described as “Speed Control”, you can also be sure that the fan header does not support PWM based speed control. If Pin 2 is described as “+12V”, this is a clear indication that the fan header supports PWM.

    Please also note that in some cases, the descriptions of the pin layouts in the mainboard manuals may not be correct and some models actually allow you to switch the fan headers from voltage control mode to PWM control mode in the BIOS even though the pin descriptions do not indicate PWM support. We thus recommend to look for these options in the BIOS before taking other measures. In case of doubt, please contact your mainboard manufacturer.


    If your mainboard features other 4-pin fan headers that use PWM for speed control, you can run multiple fans from these headers using Y-split cables. Make sure not to exceed the specified maximum power draw of the fan headers (usually 10-12W) though.

I'm experiencing fan speed issues with my motherboard from Supermicro, what can I do?

The BIOS of many motherboard models from Supermicro expects a certain minimum fan speed (usually 700rpm), which is higher than the minimum fan speed that can be achieved with Noctua's PWM fan models. The BIOS may interpret the low minimum RPM of Noctua fans as a fan error and thus try to run the fan at 100% for a short period before going back to automatic control.. This can result in oscillating fan speeds and fan speed warnings in the BIOS or the fan management console.

Unfortunately there is usually no option to set a lower minimum value that would suit the low minimum speed of Noctua PWM fans.The issue can thus only be resolved by either disabling automatic fan speed control in BIOS, which will cause the fans to run at a constant speed, or by requesting a modified BIOS file from Supermicro, which takes the minimum fan speed of Noctua fans into account (charges might apply).

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Not sure which Noctua product to buy? Our detailed buying guides for fans and CPU coolers help you to choose the model that works best for you.

Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!