heading

Fuera de producción. Modelo sucesorio: NH-C12P SE14

Con 6 heatpipes y el premiado y psicoacústicamente optimizado ventilador de 120 mm NF-P12, el NH-C12P logra un excelente rendimiento y un silencio destacable. El tradicional diseño del tipo C no sólo proporciona una compatibilidad óptima tanto con la caja como con la placa, sino que también brinda refrigeración adicional para los componentes de la placa a través de sus Airflow-Gaps. Dotado del sistema de montaje SecuFirm™ y el exclusivo compuesto térmico NT-H1 de Noctua, el NH-C12P es un disipador completamente silencioso y de gran calidad.
Detalles
6 heat pipes

6 heat pipes

6 heat-pipes, con excelentes juntas de soldadura y aletas de refrigeración bien espaciadas entre sí, garantizan una óptima disipación del calor, incluso a velocidades bajas del ventilador.
Diseño del tipo C con Airflow-Gaps

Diseño del tipo C con Airflow-Gaps

Debido al novedoso diseño y a las dos enormes aberturas para el flujo de aire, el NH-C12P proporciona refrigeración adicional a los componentes cercanos al socket de la placa base.
Excelente ventilador NF-P12 de 120 mm

Excelente ventilador NF-P12 de 120 mm

El NF-P12 ha sido específicamente desarrollado para aplicaciones de alta impedancia como los disipadores de CPU. Gracias a las optimizaciones psicoacústicas y a la gran calidad de los rodamientos SSO de Noctua, el NF-P12 logra un rendimiento excepcionalmente silencioso y estabilidad a largo plazo.
Excelente compatibilidad

Excelente compatibilidad

El diseño del tipo C proporciona una excelente compatibilidad con la mayoría de placas y cajas.
Sistema de montaje multi-socket SecuFirm™

Sistema de montaje multi-socket SecuFirm™

El sistema de montaje profesional SecuFirm™, para LGA 775, AM2, AM2+ y AM3 proporciona la máxima fiabilidad y la mejor presión de contacto.
Compuesto térmico de alta calidad NT-H1

Compuesto térmico de alta calidad NT-H1

El NT-H1 de Noctua es una solución de interacción térmica de primera calidad, que proporciona una resistencia térmica mínima, excelente facilidad de uso y una destacada estabilidad a largo plazo.
NH-C12P
Especificaciones disipador
Intel Socket LGA775, AMD AM2/AM2+/AM3, Intel LGA1156/LGA1366 sobre pedido
Altura (sin ventilador)
91 mm
Anchura (sin ventilador)
126 mm
Profundidad (sin ventilador)
152 mm
Peso (sin ventilador)
550 g
Altura (con ventilador)
114 mm
Anchura (con ventilador)
126 mm
Profundidad (con ventilador)
152 mm
Peso (con ventilador)
730 g
Material
Cobre (base y heat-pipes), aluminio (aletas de refrigeración), uniones soldadas, niquelado
Uso
Intel, todas las frecuencias - AMD, todas las frecuencias.
Tamaño del ventilador
120x120x25mm / 120x120x38mm
Volumen de entrega
  • NF-P12 premium fan
  • Ultra-Low-Noise-Adaptor (U.L.N.A.)
  • Low-Noise-Adaptor (L.N.A.)
  • NT-H1 high-grade thermal compound
  • SecuFirm™ mounting kits for LGA & AM2(+)
6 años
Especificaciones ventilador
Modelo
Rodamiento
Velocidad de rotación (+/-10%)
1300 RPM
Velocidad de rotación con L.N.A. (+/-10%)
1100 RPM
Velocidad de rotación con U.L.N.A. (+/-10%)
900 RPM
Sonoridad
19,8 dB(A)
Voltaje
12 V
MTTF
> 150.000 h
NH-C12P
31.08.2008 // Computerbase.de
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

Das gut umgesetzte Montagesystem ist zwar etwas aufwändiger, bietet aber eine sichere Verschraubung des Luxuskühlers auf allen aktuellen Plattformen und wappnet den NH-C12P in Verbindung mit dem lobenswerten Noctua-Support auch für spätere Sockel, wodurch eine Kühler-Neuanschaffung entfällt. Die Qualität des Noctua NH-C12P ist ferner über jeden Zweifel erhaben und so bleibt uns wiederum nur, auch Österreichs Top-Blow-Pendant und sein piekfein aufeinander abgestimmtes Bundle mit unserer ComputerBase-Empfehlung auszuzeichnen.
Resultado del análisis: "Der Noctua NH-C12P konnte die hohen Erwartungen, die durch die famose Vorstellung seiner NH-U12P-Schwester entstanden, in – für den Top-Blow-Bereich – beachtlicher Weise erfüllen. Die österreichische Entwicklung wartet mit einem für Kühler dieser Bauart exzellenten Leistungscharakter auf und stellt so manchen Tower-Kontrahenten in den Schatten. Seine Lautstärkeeigenschaften überzeugen aufgrund des NF-P12-Premiumlüfters in allen Lebenslagen durch die kaum vorhandenen Motoren- und/oder Vibrationsgeräusche und den sicher geführten Luftumschlag." (Martin Eckardt, Computerbase.de)
02.04.2009 // Custom PC
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

Under full load, our test CPU was 9°C cooler with the Noctua than it was with the reference HSF. The Noctua also made little audible noise. This is a great effort considering that we use an overclocked and overvolted quad-core Xeon 3210. The Noctua is a luxury product, and every component of the cooler is of a high quality.
Resultado del análisis: "Every part of this cooler screams premium and luxury. [...] If VRM cooling is a priority and you have the cash to spare, this is an excellent cooler." (Mark Mackay, Custom PC)
05.05.2008 // DragonSteelMods.com
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

The tower, 'U' style tower coolers seem to dominate when it comes to effectively cooling a CPU, but the NH-C12P changes that now and we have here something small that will fit in most any case that out performs coolers that are essentially twice its size (at least in height). Noctua proves time and time again that they know what they are doing, be it a fan or a CPU cooler, they know cooling and know how to make a quality product. The NH-C12P continues the Noctua tradition of creating and producing high quality, excellent performing products, I can easily recommend this CPU cooler to anyone looking for a quality product that not only looks great but performs exceedingly well.
Resultado del análisis: "The Noctua NH-C12P is a great choice for those looking for a small CPU cooler, it offers a nice combination of performance and silence, it could be perfect for an HTPC case or desktop style case. Considering its performance though, the NH-C12P is ideally suited for pretty much any application, and it should be able to handle anything thrown at it." (Kristofer Brozio, DragonSteelMods.com)
05.05.2008 // TT-Hardware.com
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

En effet, le NH-C12H déploie une surface d'un peu plus de 2000 cm² contre approximativement 3100 cm² pour le NH-U12P. Ce dernier dispose donc d'une surface d'échange 50% plus grand... Etant donné que les NH-U12P et NH-C12P maintiennent le processeur à une température comparable, on ne peut être qu'impressionné par le travail accompli.
Resultado del análisis: "Que penser de ce NH-C12P ? Les performances brutes, c'est-à-dire les capacités de refroidissement du processeur, sont excellentes et comparables à celles du récent NH-U12P. Les deux heatpipes supplémentaires permettent donc de compenser la surface d'échange réduite de 33%... Mais le grand point fort du NH-C12P est sa hauteur inférieure à celle d’un NH-U9 moins efficace. Noctua a donc bien conçu son nouveau radiateur." (Pascal Thevenier, TT-Hardware.com)
01.04.2011 // BayReviews.com
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

The cooler performed very well in all our tests and it beat the AMD stock and Evercool Transformer 4 coolers without any issues.
Resultado del análisis: "Overall, the Noctua NH-C12P is a smaller cooler which is also ultra-quiet and provides very good cooling. I would highly recommend this CPU cooler for anyone looking to replace their stock heatsink with something that can handle a lot more." (Vikram Chand, BayReviews.com)
22.09.2010 // Tech-Reviews.co.uk
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

The Noctua NH-C12P has proven to be a worthy competitor. Knocking a good 21 degrees off of the load temperature of the stock cooler, the NH-C12P definitely gives you some extra overclocking headroom. When compared with the Gelid Silent Spirit the Noctua also manages to score slightly better temperatures than this cooler.
Resultado del análisis: "Overall the Noctua NH-C12P is a worthy replacement for your stock cooler. It’s not going to perform like a water-cooling setup or a more expensive cooler, but it’s an ideal choice for lower temperatures and more overclocking potential." (Rhys Sloman-Brown, Tech-Reviews.co.uk)
20.05.2010 // PCLabs.com.tr
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

Peki hangisi? Aynı fiyata, eğer klasik kule tipi kasanız varsa -yani içine sığıyorsa- NH-U12P daha iyi soğutma performansı ya da alternatif olarak daha düşük gürültüye benzer soğutma performansı demek. Eğer HTPC tipi, yüksekliği kurtarmayacak bir kasaya sahipseniz ya da bu tip bir şeyler edinmeyi düşünüyorsanız NH-C12P.
Resultado del análisis: "Eğer bir HTPC tipi, ufak tefek bir kasaya soğutucu arıyorsanız aklınızda bulunması gereken bir seçenek. Özel sessiz fanı düşük devirde de iyi bir soğutma sağlamanın yanısıra sessiz olmasını istediğiniz HTPC tipi sisteminizde varlığını hissettirmeyecektir." (Haluk Sekendiz, PCLabs.com.tr)
25.12.2009 // Gamereactor.no
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

Ved full load nådde den varmeste kjerne (#1) en temp på 59 grader, mens Gigabyte X fikk en temp på 76 grader på samme operasjon. Temperaturen på chipset er også viktig og denne var 38 grader med Noctua NH-C12P og 47 for Gigabyte X. Her er det altså snakk om 10 grader forskjell. Og det i et kabinett som er helt åpent. Her kvitter alle kjølere seg med varm luft fort! Ytelsen er enormt bra. Det er ikke mye mer å si. Viften spinner også med 1400 rpm hele tiden og den høres ikke i det hele tatt på det turtallet. Noctua sender med flere adaptere for å senke viftehastighet hvis man ønsker dette. På en mindre hissig CPU er nok dette et godt valg. Spesielt i et HTPC kabinett. Viften på Gigabyte X spant med et maksturtall på 2700 rpm ved full load og dette ble veldig plagsomt etterhvert.
Resultado del análisis: "Noctua NH-C12P er en meget god kjøler. Den har en passform som gjør den til en av de mest kompatible kjølerne på markedet i dag. Kjøleytelsen er fenomenal og det er en bra bundle som er med i esken. Kjølepasta, vifteadaptere og fester til de soklene som er aktive i dag. Utformingen gjør at den også kjøler chipset og RAM-brikker noe som bare gjør den enda et hakk bedre. Noctua befinner seg helt på topp av dagens kjølermarked og dette er et produkt som får de varmeste anbefalinger fra en hardwarenerd." (Thor Stokke, Gamereactor.no)
01.11.2009 // PC-CM.com
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

เป็นอย่างไรกันบ้างครับกับสุดยอด Heatsink จาก Austria บินไกลจากฝั่งยุโรปที่มีประสิทธิภาพเรื่องการระบายความร้อนที่ขึ้นชื่อได้ ว่า Cooling ของเค้านั้นเงียบที่สุดติดอันดับ Top 5 ซึ่งเป็นที่นิยมและได้รับการยอมรับจากเมืองนอกเป็นอย่างมาก และในวันนี้ Heatsink ในรุ่น NH-C12P ที่ทดสอบให้ชมกันกับ System ที่ใช้ CPU Intel Core i5 750 โดยได้ทดสอบถึงประสิทธิภาพในการระบายความร้อนของ CPU ที่ความเร็วเดิมๆ 2.66Ghz และการ Overclock ไปที่ควงามเร็ว 3.6Ghz นั้นสามารถแสดงประสิทธิภาพในการระบายความร้อนได้ดีกว่า Heatsink Stock ของ Intel Core i5 ขณะ CPU Full Load ด้วยโปรแกรม LinX 0.6.3 Run 15 Time ได้เย็นกว่าในระดับ 15c - 20c องศาเซลเซียสในการทดสอบ นี่ก็บอกบอกถึงประสิทธิภาพในการระบายความร้อนว่า Heatsink ตัวนี้ทำได้อยู่ในระดับใช้ได้เลยทีเดียว และที่สำคัญนะครับ อย่าลืมว่า Heatsink ตัวนี้ใช้พัดลมระบายความร้อนขนาด 12cm. ที่ใช้รอบในการระบายความร้อนเพียง 1300rpm. เท่านั้น และเสียงรบกวนในการทำงานในระดับต่ำกว่า 20dBA เสียงรบกนนั้นเทียบจะไม่ได้ยินเลยจริงๆ ครับ ด้วยการออกแบบใบพัดแบบพิเศษ ช่วยลดเสียงรบกวน แต่ได้ระบบ Air-Flow สูง ซึ่ง Noctua ได้เรียกระบบนี้ว่า Vortex-Control Notches อ่านรายละเอียดเพิ่มเติมได้ ที่นี่ ครับ
Resultado del análisis: "วันนี้ผมก็มีข่าวสารมาแจ้ง และพร้อมกับผลการทดสอบสำหรับผู้ที่ใช้ Heatsink จาก Noctua โดยหลายๆ ท่านอาจจะคุ้นหูกันไปบ้างแล้ว และหลายๆ ท่านอาจจะไม่เคยได้ยินชื่อเสียงของยี่ห้อนี้เลยก็เป็นได้ เพราะว่าเป็น Heatsink ที่ผลิตออกมาสำหรับเน้นการใช้งานแบบเงียบๆ เป็นหลัก เนื้องานค่อนข้างพิถิพิถัน สาวยงาม และใบพัดลมนั้นได้ออกแบบมาสำหรับความเงียบโดยเฉพาะ ถึงรอบจะต่ำ แต่ได้แรงลมที่มากกว่าพัดลมรุ่นอื่นๆ ที่รอบเท่าๆ กัน และที่สำคัญเรื่องความเงียบนั้น ต้องยกให้เค้าครับ Noctua" (Krittanan Nanta, PC-CM.com)
28.10.2009 // Tech-Lobby.com
test.gif

NH-C12P Opinión

Today we take a look at the Noctua NH-C12P. A cooler with a shorter profile making it an excellent choice for those wanting top end passive cooling in smaller system cases.
Resultado del análisis: "Overall, like the previous Noctua products we’ve reviewed, the NH-C12P is just another awesome CPU cooler, which in our opinion keeps Noctua on top of the game." (Farhan Khan, Tech-Lobby.com Video Review)

Manual de instalación (PDF)

Hoja de datos (PDF)

Preguntas frecuentes

I've got 2 adapter cables with the cooler. What's the difference between these cables?

My unlocked Intel CPU is running too hot although my heatsink supports the specified TDP, what's the problem?

Can I keep using the backplate / mounting system of my previous Noctua cooler for my new one?

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with Intel LGA2066?

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with AMD AM4 (Ryzen)?

Can I upgrade my existing Noctua cooler to socket TR4 or SP3?

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

Why is my Ryzen 3000 processor getting so hot? Why are Ryzen 3000 CPUs running hotter than previous generation Ryzen CPUs with the same TDP rating? Is there anything wrong with my cooler?

How can I check whether my AMD mainboard has a standard AMD backplate that’s compatible with the SecuFirm2™ mounting system and how should I proceed with the installation?

Is the high weight dangerous for the CPU or socket?

Does the cooler offer sufficient clearance for my RAM modules?

Is the cooler compatible with socket AM2+ and AM3?

Can I use Corsair Dominator RAM with the cooler?

¿Es posible montar ventiladores de altura superior a 25mm?

I can’t spread the thermal compound by turning the cooler as described in the manual!

How much clearance for RAM or chipset coolers does the NH-C12P provide?

Does the cooler offer sufficient clearance for my RAM modules?

The fan doesn’t start with the Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (ULNA)!

Can I use Corsair Dominator RAM with the cooler?

In which orientation should top-flow coolers (NH-C series, NH-L12) be installed?

My fan doesn’t spin when I start up the PC - is it faulty?

Can I run Noctua 3-pin fans on 4-pin PWM connectors and use my mainboard’s automatic fan controller?

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

I've got 2 adapter cables with the cooler. What's the difference between these cables?

The Low-Noise-Adapter (L.N.A.) and Ultra-Low-Noise-Adapter (U.L.N.A.) reduce the speed of the fan to 1100 / 900 rpm:

Vibration Compensators Installation

My unlocked Intel CPU is running too hot although my heatsink supports the specified TDP, what's the problem?

Intel's unlocked CPUs (K, X and C suffix) can dissipate more heat than indicated by the TDP specification if
  1. the TDP limits are extended or disabled in the motherboards' BIOS.
  2. the motherboard applies automatic overclocking by default, e.g. by raising the supply voltage of the CPU and using higher Turbo-Mode multipliers.
  3. some software creates untypical loads, e.g. Prime95 with AVX2 support and a) and/or b) apply.

This can lead to temperature issues, especially when using smaller coolers or compact cases.

The actual power draw of the processor can be monitored with software provided by the motherboard vendor or with 3rd party tools like HWInfo or HWMonitor.

If you encounter temperature issues (>90°C) and notice a higher than specified power draw, please ensure that no automatic overclocking is applied and limit the TDP to the specified value by choosing appropriate BIOS settings.

For Kaby Lake CPUs, it may also help to lower the CPU clock speed for applications that heavily use the AVX instruction set, which can lead to higher loads and power draw. This option is usually referred to as “AVX offset” and makes it possible to lower the multiplier specifically for AVX based applications without reducing performance when using other instruction sets. Depending on the quality of the CPU and the programs being used, a reduction of 2-3 steps usually gives very good results.

Please contact your motherboard vendor for details if you have trouble finding the appropriate settings in the BIOS.

All our TDP recommendations are based on thorough testing with the default values specified by Intel using popular applications such as Asus Realbench and prime95. Please note, however, that prime95 creates a particularly high load that goes beyond typical application scenarios and this leads to elevated temperatures. We thus recommend using other programs such as Realbench for checking the stability and temperatures of the CPU in realistic scenarios.

Can I keep using the backplate / mounting system of my previous Noctua cooler for my new one?

Most Noctua SecuFirm™ mounting parts are cross-compatible, so if you’re replacing one Noctua cooler with another, it is usually possible to keep the original backplate and/or mounting system in place in order to re-use it for the new cooler. If you had your previous Noctua cooler installed on an Intel LGA115x (LGA1156, LGA1155, LGA1151, LGA1150), LGA2011 (LGA2011-0, LGA2011-3) or LGA1366 system and replace it with an NH-U14S, NH-U12S or NH-U9S, you only need to replace the original mounting bars with the NM-IMB3 ones supplied with the new cooler. For all other models, you can keep the entire mounting system in place on the aforementioned Intel sockets. On AMD AM2, AM2+, AM3, AM3+, FM1, FM2, FM2+, you only need to replace the original mounting bars with the ones supplied with the new cooler.

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with Intel LGA2066?

Due to the heatsink mounting mechanism being identical on LGA2011 and LGA2066, Noctua’s SecuFirm2™ mounting systems for LGA2011 also support Intel’s upcoming ‘Basin Falls’ X299 HEDT (High End Desktop) platform for ‘Skylake-X’ and ‘Kaby Lake-X’ processors. Most current Noctua coolers already include SecuFirm2™ mounting systems for LGA2011 and can thus be used on LGA2066 motherboards without any upgrades or modifications.

The following models include a mounting-kit for socket LGA2011/2066 and are thus compatible out of the box:

NH-C14S
NH-D14 SE2011
NH-D15
NH-D15S
NH-D9L
NH-L12
NH-L9x65
NH-U12S
NH-U12DX i4
NH-U14S
NH-U9DX i4
NH-U9S

The following models can be made compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets free of charge using the NM-I2011 upgrade-kit:

NH-C12P
NH-C12P SE14
NH-C14
NH-D14
NH-D15 SE-AM4
NH-U12S SE-AM4
NH-L9x65 SE-AM4
NH-U12
NH-U12F
NH-U12P
NH-U12P SE1366
NH-U12P SE2
NH-U9
NH-U9B
NH-U9B SE2
NH-U9F

The following models can be made compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets using the NM-I2011 upgrade-kit but are not eligible for Noctua‘s free mounting offer, so users have to purchase the kit at local resellers:

NH-U12DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)
NH-U12DX
NH-U12DX 1366
NH-U9DX 1366
NH-U9DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)

The following models are not compatible with the LGA2011/LGA2066 sockets and can not be upgraded:

NH-L9a
NH-L9i
NH-U12DO A3
NH-U9DO A3

Which Noctua CPU coolers are compatible with AMD AM4 (Ryzen)?

The following models include a mounting-kit for socket AM4 and are thus compatible out of the box:

NH-D15 (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-D15 SE-AM4
NH-D15S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U14S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U12S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U12S SE-AM4
NH-U9S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-D9L (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-C14S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-L12S
NH-L9x65 (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-L9x65 SE-AM4
NH-L9a-AM4

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4 upgrade-kit:

NH-C12P
NH-C12P SE14
NH-C14
NH-C14S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-D14
NH-D14 SE2011
NH-D15 (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-D15S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-D9L (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-L12
NH-L9x65 (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U12
NH-U12F
NH-U12P
NH-U12P SE1366
NH-U12P SE2
NH-U9
NH-U9B
NH-U9B SE2
NH-U9F

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4-UxS upgrade-kit:

NH-U14S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U12S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)
NH-U9S (AM4 mounting included since 2019, only older coolers require upgrade kit)

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket free of charge using the NM-AM4-L9aL9i upgrade-kit:

NH-L9a
NH-L9i

The following models can be made compatible with the AM4 socket using the NM-AM4 upgrade-kit but are not eligible for Noctua‘s free mounting offer, so users have to purchase the kit at local resellers:

NH-U12DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)
NH-U12DX
NH-U12DX 1366
NH-U12DX i4
NH-U9DX i4
NH-U9DX 1366
NH-U9DO (Note that the A3 version is not compatible!)

The following models are not compatible with the AM4 socket and can not be upgraded:

NH-U14S TR4-SP3
NH-U12S TR4-SP3
NH-U9 TR4-SP3
NH-U12DO A3
NH-U9 DO A3

Can I upgrade my existing Noctua cooler to socket TR4 or SP3?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to upgrade existing Noctua heatsinks to support the AMD TR4 and SP3 sockets for Ryzen Threadripper (X399) and Epyc CPUs. TR4/SP3 CPUs have much bigger heatspreaders (as compared to e.g. LGA2066 or AM4 processors) and the contact surfaces of standard Noctua heatsinks would cover only about half of these heatspreaders, which would result in insufficient cooling performance. On top of that, the heatpipes of bigger cooler models like the NH-D15 or NH-D15S would completely block the RAM slots on many TR4/SP3 motherboards. For this reason, Noctua has introduced the new NH-U14S TR4-SP3, NH-U12S TR4-SP3 and NH-U9 TR4-SP3 cooler models that feature bigger contact surfaces and have been tailored to fit TR4 and SP3 systems. Please choose these models for AMD Ryzen Threadripper and Epyc systems.

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

Dust: Fans and heatsinks inside computer cases tend to accumulate dust over longer periods of usage. In order to maintain maximum performance, please clean your fan and heatsink regularly. For cleaning, please first remove the fan from the heatsink and clean it using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please do not use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan and do not put the fan under running water as water residues inside the motor may lead to short circuits. Please also note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty. Before reinstalling the fan, clean the heatsink itself with a duster or vacuum cleaner. Do not use water to clean the cooler. Finally put the fan back on and connect it to your motherboard fan header or fan controller.
Thermal paste residues: Whenever you take off the heatsink from the CPU, we recommend to clean the CPU as well as the base of the cooler before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler. You can either just wipe the base and the CPU clean with a dry, lint-free tissue or, for more thorough cleaning, use a lint-free tissue moistened with either a mild solution of washing-up liquid or isopropyl alcohol. Do not put the cooler or CPU under running water. Note that both the base of the heatsink and the CPU should be dry, free from residues of thermal compound and free from grease before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler.

What Thermal Design Power (TDP) is this cooler recommended for and how much Watt (W) of heat can it dissipate?

Please refer to our CPU compatibility list for information on maximum recommended TDP and heat dissipation.

Can I install a Noctua cooler in my system from Acer, Dell, HP or Lenovo?

Systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands often use motherboards which differ slightly from the specifications issued by Intel and AMD. While those changes are usually subtle, they can lead to compatibility issues with coolers that were built to comply with these specifications.

Even in case the cooler is mechanically compatible and can be installed, other issues can occur, e.g. proprietary fan connectors, BIOS errors due to a low fan speed, shutdowns, etc. Some of these problems can be avoided with some technical knowledge, but especially BIOS related issues can often not be resolved.

Due to the large number of possible issues that cannot be resolved with different mounting parts alone, Noctua does not officially support systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands.

My case supports CPU coolers of up to XXXmm height, which model should I choose?

Please refer to our TDP guide in order to select the cooler that offers the best cooling performance at a given height.

I have difficulties installing the cooler, can you help?

Please refer to the installation manual and our video installation guides for detailed instructions on how to install the cooler.

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

All screws should be tightened gently until they stop without using excessive force. Please do not exceed the following values for maximum tightening torque:
Screw typeMax. torque
NM-SSC1 screws for fixing the fastening brackets to the base of the heatsink0.5 Nm
NM-ITS1 thumb screws for fixing Intel mounting bars0.5 Nm
NM-ALS1 screws for fixing AMD mounting bars0.6 Nm
Spring-loaded screws for fixing the heatsink to the mounting bars0.6 Nm

How can I determine if the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS is overclocking my processor by default and deactivate this automatic overclocking?

Most motherboard vendors allow their overclocking-enabled products (e.g. those with Intels X- or Z-series chipsets) to run the processor at increased clock speeds by default, without requiring any user action at all. Since TDP (Thermal Design Power) limits are usually also disabled by default, this leads to the CPU exceeding the rated TDP to a varying degree, depending on the used applications and their workloads. Due to the increased heat output of the CPU, you may see higher CPU temperatures than expected.

In order to find out if your motherboard is overclocking your processor by default, please enter the UEFI BIOS and select the “advanced” or “overclocking” menu. There you should be able to find options such as “MultiCore Enhancement” (options: enabled/disabled), “CPU Ratio Apply Mode” (options: all/per core) or similar. To disable the automatic overclocking, adjust the settings either to “disabled” or “per core” and make sure that the individual multipliers match the original specifications.

In doubt, please contact your motherboard vendor for detailed instructions on how to disable this feature.

Why is my Ryzen 3000 processor getting so hot? Why are Ryzen 3000 CPUs running hotter than previous generation Ryzen CPUs with the same TDP rating? Is there anything wrong with my cooler?

The latest Ryzen 3000 processors (except APU models) differ from previous Ryzen generations in that they are no longer based on a single, large chip but use a multi-chip approach with smaller chips instead. Depending on the exact model there can be one (6 and 8-core models) or two (12 and 16-core models) actual CPU-Dies (CCD) on the package. Each processor also uses an I/O-Die (IOD), which contains things like the memory controller, PCIe controller, connections to the motherboard chipset and other functions.



Because of this design change and the switch to a smaller 7nm manufacturing process, the heat distribution of the overall processor is much different from older 14nm and 12nm based single-chip Ryzen processors with a similar power draw.

Depending on the exact CPU model, its specified TDP value and possibly extended power limits (precision boost overdrive), a single CPU-die can create a heatload of up to 130W easily, whereas the I/O-die usually creates a heatload of about 10W. Due to the small size of the CPU-die, the heat density (W/mm²) of this chip is very high. For example, a 120W heatload at a chip-size of 74mm² results in a heat-density of 1.62W/mm², whereas the same heatload on an older Ryzen processor with a chip-size of 212mm² gives a heat-density of just 0.57W/mm².

This large difference in heat-density is the reason why newer Ryzen 3000 processors become much warmer at similar heatloads than their predecessors.

Furthermore, Ryzen 3000 CPUs are using the rated temperature headroom (up to 95°C) quite aggressively in order to reach higher boost clocks. As a result, it is absolutely no problem and not alarming if the processor runs into this temperature limit. The clock speed and supply voltage will be adjusted automatically by the processor itself in order to remain within AMD’s specifications and to prevent overheating.

Due to the higher heat density, higher thermal limits and more aggressive boost clock usage, it is perfectly normal that Ryzen 3000 CPUs are reaching higher temperatures than previous generation Ryzen CPUs with the same TDP rating. Higher CPU temperatures are normal for Ryzen 3000 processors and not a sign of that there is anything wrong with the CPU cooler.

How can I check whether my AMD mainboard has a standard AMD backplate that’s compatible with the SecuFirm2™ mounting system and how should I proceed with the installation?

The SecuFirm2™ mounting system requires a standard AMD backplate (either plastic or metal) with screw threads as shown on the pictures below. These backplates are pre-installed on the rear side of most AMD mainboards (see first picture below) and fixed to the retention module with four screws (see second picture below). If your retention module is fixed with plastic bolts instead of metal screws, please contact support@noctua.at in order to obtain an appropriate backplate.

In order to proceed with the installation of your Noctua cooler, please remove the four screws and the retention module but keep the backplate in place so that you can see the screw threads from the top side of the motherboard (see third picture below). You can then proceed with the installation of the SecuFirm2™ mounting kit as described in the manual (see fourth picture below).

AMD backplate

AMD backplate

AMD backplate

AMD backplate



Is the high weight dangerous for the CPU or socket?

No. Los disipadores Noctua poseen un sistema de montaje SecuFirm™ extremadamente fiable. Gracias a la conexión mediante tornillos al backplate de la parte posterior de la placa, el exceso de peso -según las recomendaciones de Inter y AMD- común entre los disipadores de gama alta, no tiene objeción posible.

Does the cooler offer sufficient clearance for my RAM modules?

The cooler offers sufficient clearance for modules of up to 40mm in height. RAM modules with higher heatspreaders can cause compatibility issues on mainboards where the heatsink extends over the RAM slots.

RAM Clearance

Is the cooler compatible with socket AM2+ and AM3?

Yes. As AM2, AM2+ and AM3 are mechanically identical, the cooler is compatible with all three sockets.

Can I use Corsair Dominator RAM with the cooler?

The cooler can extend over the RAM slots on some mainboards. While DDR2 Corsair Dominator don't fit underneath the cooler, DDR3 Corsair Dominator do fit when the removable top heatsink is taken off as shown below.

DDR3

¿Es posible montar ventiladores de altura superior a 25mm?

Sí. Los clips de montaje del disipador se agarran a los agujeros de los tornillos del extremo más bajo del ventilador, y por lo tanto funcionan con cualquier ventilador sin importar su altura. De todos modos, puede haber problemas en la instalación del ventilador si éste tiene un marco de forma especial, donde los clips no puedan agarrarse al extremo inferior del marco.

NH-U fan mounting

I can’t spread the thermal compound by turning the cooler as described in the manual!

Due to the new LGA mounting bars with screw threads that facilitate the installation process, there's little room to turn the cooler as described in step 4 of the supplied manual. There's nothing to worry about though, as you can still turn the cooler by a few millimetres in order to help the thermal compound spread. We've also made the compound slightly less viscous so that the contact pressure of mounting system is wholly sufficient to spread it.

How much clearance for RAM or chipset coolers does the NH-C12P provide?

The NH-C12P provides 44mm clearance for near-socket components:

Vibration Compensators Installation

Does the cooler offer sufficient clearance for my RAM modules?

The cooler offers sufficient clearance for modules of up to 40mm in height. RAM modules with higher heatspreaders can cause compatibility issues on mainboards where the heatsink extends over the RAM slots (Note that you can move the fan up as shown here in case only the fan hangs over the RAM slots).

RAM Clearance

The fan doesn’t start with the Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (ULNA)!

Unfortunately, many Gigabyte mainboards use a special control circuit that can lead to start-up problems in conjunction with the Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (ULNA). This control circuit remains active even when automatic fan control is disabled in the BIOS. In these cases, please use the fan without the ULNA or connect it directly to the power supply (or an external fan controller) in order to ensure reliable operation with the ULNA.

Can I use Corsair Dominator RAM with the cooler?

The cooler can extend over the RAM slots on some mainboards. While DDR2 Corsair Dominator don't fit underneath the cooler, DDR3 Corsair Dominator do fit when the removable top heatsink is taken off as shown below. Please also note that the NF-P12 fan can be moved upwards or taken off in order to improve RAM compatibility as shown here.

DDR3

In which orientation should top-flow coolers (NH-C series, NH-L12) be installed?

When using top-flow coolers in a tower-style case, we strongly recommend installing the cooler with the heatpipes in horizontal position or with the bends of the heatpipes pointing downwards. Please avoid installing the cooler with the bends pointing upwards as this may result in reduced cooling performance. In desktop cases, the cooler can be used in any orientation.

Orientation

My fan doesn’t spin when I start up the PC - is it faulty?

If you've connected the fan directly (or using the supplied Low-Noise or Ultra-Low-Noise-Adaptors) to your mainboard, it's possible that the mainboard's automatic fan controller doesn't provide the required starting voltage due to the low CPU temperature. Please verify whether the fan starts spinning at higher CPU temperatures, remove any Low-Noise or Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptors, deactivate your mainboard's automatic fan controller in the BIOS or connect the fan directly to the power supply using the supplied 3:4-pin adaptor.

Can I run Noctua 3-pin fans on 4-pin PWM connectors and use my mainboard’s automatic fan controller?

You can simply connect our fan's 3-pin connector to the 4-pin PWM sockets of today's mainboards so that the fourth pin that transmits the PWM signal is left blank (due to the shape of the connector, there's no danger of reversing polarity). Some mainboards (e.g. current Gigabyte models) are capable of controlling fans not only via PWM, but also by adjusting the supplied voltage. In some cases, this may require you to change BIOS options like "Fan Control Mode" from "PWM" to "Voltage" or "Analog". Please consult your mainboard's manual in this regard. However, some mainboards use an "auto" setting by default that automatically chooses PWM or voltage based regulation according to the connected fan. Automatically controlling the fan speed may not possible on mainboards that pulse the power rather than lowering the fan voltage.

PWM PWM

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Not sure which Noctua product to buy? Our detailed buying guides for fans and CPU coolers help you to choose the model that works best for you.

¿Tiene alguna pregunta sobre uno de nuestros productos? ¡Por favor use este formulario para enviar una pregunta!