heading

The NF-A20 is a highly optimised, premium quality quiet 200mm fan. Featuring an AAO (Advanced Acoustic Optimisation) standard frame as well as sophisticated aerodynamic design measures such as Flow Acceleration Channels, the NF-A20 brings the renowned quiet cooling performance of Noctua’s award-winning A-series to the increasingly popular 20cm form factor. The PWM version uses Noctua’s custom designed NE-FD1 IC for fully automatic speed control via 4-pin fan headers, which allows it to strike a perfect balance between quietness and ventilation performance in each given situation. Its superb running smoothness, reference-class SSO2 bearing and Noctua’s trusted premium quality make the NF-A20 an elite choice for the highest demands.
Details
Award-winning Noctua quality in 20cm size

Award-winning Noctua quality in 20cm size

While more and more PC cases support 20cm intake, side-panel or exhaust fans, many of the bundled stock units and available aftermarket options are of questionable quality. By contrast, the NF-A20 is a true premium grade solution worthy of Noctua’s award-winning A-series.
154mm, 110x180mm and 170mm hole spacing

154mm, 110x180mm and 170mm hole spacing

In order to ensure broad compatibility with today’s PC cases, the NF-A20 features three sets of mounting holes: While the 154x154mm and 110x180mm spacing allow it to replace most 200mm fans, the 170x170mm spacing is used by many 230 and 250mm fans, which can thus also be replaced by the NF-A20.*
Flow Acceleration Channels

Flow Acceleration Channels

The NF-A20 impeller features suction side Flow Acceleration Channels. By speeding up the airflow at the crucial outer blade regions, this measure reduces suction side flow separation and thus leads to better efficiency and lower vortex noise.
AAO Frame

AAO Frame

Noctua's AAO (Advanced Acoustic Optimisation) frames feature integrated anti-vibration pads as well as Noctua's proprietary Stepped Inlet Design and Inner Surface Microstructures, both of which further refine the fan's performance/noise efficiency.
Stepped Inlet Design

Stepped Inlet Design

Noctua's Stepped Inlet Design adds turbulence to the influx in order to facilitate the transition from laminar flow to turbulent flow, which reduces tonal intake noise, improves flow attachment and increases suction capacity, especially in space-restricted environments.
Inner Surface Microstructures

Inner Surface Microstructures

With the tips of the fan blades ploughing through the boundary layer created by the Inner Surface Microstructures, flow separation from the suction side of the blades is significantly suppressed, which results in reduced blade passing noise and improved airflow and pressure efficiency.
Integrated anti-vibration pads

Integrated anti-vibration pads

Integrated anti-vibration pads made from extra-soft silicone minimise the transmission of minute vibrations while maintaining full compatibility with all standard screws and other mounting systems.
Custom-designed PWM IC with SCD

Custom-designed PWM IC with SCD

Supporting fully automatic PWM speed control, the fan uses Noctua's custom-designed NE-FD1 PWM IC that integrates Smooth Commutation Drive (SCD) technology. By providing smoother torque impulses, SCD suppresses PWM switching noises and thus makes the fan quieter at low speeds.
Low-Noise Adaptor

Low-Noise Adaptor

The NF-A20 PWM is supplied with a (L.N.A.) that reduces the maximum fan speed from 800 to 550rpm. The L.N.A. can be used either to run the fan at a fixed speed of 550rpm or to cap the maximum speed when using automatic PWM control.
Extensive cabling options

Extensive cabling options

The fan's short 20cm primary cable minimises cable clutter in typical applications while the supplied 30cm extension provides extended reach when necessary. Both cables are fully sleeved and a 4-pin y-cable allows the connection of a second fan to the same PWM fan header for automatic control.
SSO2 bearing

SSO2 bearing

The NF-A20 features the further optimised second generation of Noctua's renowned, time-tested SSO bearing. With SSO2, the rear magnet is placed closer to the axis to provide even better stabilisation, precision and durability.
6-year manufacturer’s warranty

6-year manufacturer’s warranty

Noctua fans are renowned for their impeccable quality and outstanding longevity. Like all Noctua fans, the NF-A20 features an MTTF of more than 150.000 hours rating and comes with a full 6-year manufacturer’s warranty.
*As there is no fixed industry standard for the size or hole spacing of 200mm, 220mm, 230mm or 250mm fans, please carefully check both the hole setup of your chassis and the available space (the NF-A20 is 30mm thick whereas some other 200mm fans are only 20mm!) in order to verify that the NF-A20 is compatible with your chassis. In case of doubt, please contact your chassis manufacturer.
NF-A20 PWM
FAN Specification
Size
200x200x30 mm
Mounting hole spacing
154x154, 110x180, 170x170 mm
Connector
4-Pin PWM
Bearing
Blade Geometry
Rotational Speed (+/- 10%)
800 RPM
Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%)
550 RPM
Min. Rotational Speed (PWM, +/-20%)
350 RPM
Acoustical Noise
18,1 dB(A)
Acoustical Noise with L.N.A.
10,7 dB(A)
Static Pressure
1,08 mm H₂O
Static Pressure with L.N.A.
0,51 mm H₂O
Max. Input Power
0,96 W
Max. Input Current
0,08 A
Voltage
12 V
MTTF
> 150.000 h
Scope of Delivery
  • Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
  • 4-pin y-cable
  • 30cm extension cable
  • NA-AV3 anti-vibration mounts
  • NA-AV4 anti-vibration mounts
  • Fan screws
Warranty
6 years
NF-A20 PWM
A-Series fans
Video Reviews
The following video reviews have not been created by Noctua. Responsibility for the information and views expressed in the videos lies entirely with the authors.
language
language
language
17.08.2017 // APHNetworks.com
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Noctua is well known for being quiet, but also have good performance. They have definitely stayed true to their reputation. The Noctua NF-A series have exceptional build quality through and through. All of the fans performed well during the tests. On top of that, they were also quiet, especially if run at nominal speeds instead of their maximum.
Test verdict: "The Noctua NF-A Series is a comprehensive line up of fans that will be great addition to many system environments." (Ben Joubert, APHNetworks.com)
10.08.2017 // WhatNext.pl
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Wszystkie wentylatory oraz akcesoria są godne polecenia. Noctua ponownie pokazuje, że umie zrobić świetne konstrukcje. Śmigła są wydajne i prezentują się dobrze pod względem kultury pracy. Także jakość wykonania stoi na najwyższym poziomie. Podobnie jest z akcesoriami – świetne wykonanie i odpowiednie działanie.
Test verdict: "W zakupie sprzętu przeszkadzać może jedynie cena, która jest spora. Jednakże znakomite produkty nie mogą być tanie bo było by zbyt pięknie." (Michał Andruszkiewicz, WhatNext.pl)
18.07.2017 // GreenTechReviews.ru
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

По результатам тестирования мы можем с уверенностью сказать, что обе 200 мм модели, возможно, и не обладают явным преимуществом перед парами привычных вентиляторов, но они обладают экстремально низким уровнем шума, чего нельзя сказать о соперниках. По сути, NF-A20 FLX и NF-A20 PWM невозможно услышать, даже если отключить все остальные вентиляторы в корпусе. Да что там в корпусе – если взять какой-либо из них в руку в рабочем состоянии, то даже так он кажется бесшумным!
Test verdict: "Вентиляторы Noctua NF-A20 FLX и NF-A20 PWM, обладающие непривычными размерами 200х30 мм, предлагают пользователю очень высокую эффективность вне зависимости от режима работы, сохраняя, при этом, чрезвычайно низкий уровень шума. Обе модели способны заметно снизить температуру в корпусе, что влечёт за собой и снижение температуры комплектующих. Если у вас появилась проблема выбора 200 мм вентилятора, но NF-A20 FLX или NF-A20 PWM станут бескомпромиссным решением для вашей системы!" Владимир Солонин, GreenTechReviews.ru)
12.07.2017 // FunkyKit.com
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

We have no doubt about the top quality of Noctua products. Each one of them is well designed. Even the package is exceptional. Most manufacturers are missing these little things that count while Noctua provides package with everything you may need for installation. Long years of designing and engeneering gave great results. Where you could think there can’t be done much more, Noctua proved that even the best products can be improved. New A series fans are the best in their class and it’s hard to find anything similar on the market. Even though new fans are considered as “slim”, they provide top air pressure while keeping low level of generated noise. Perfect balance for all who expect the best from their fans.
Test verdict: "We are recommending all new Noctua products without any hesitation!" (Bartosz Waluk, FunkyKit.com)
10.07.2017 // pc.sk
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Ventilátor (NF-A20) je naozaj "obrovský" a neskutočne kvalitne spracovaný. Keď ho chytíte do ruky, okamžite mu prepáčite jeho cenu 29.99 eur. Konštrukcia, príslušenstvo - všetko kričí na Vás top kvalitou. Na ventilátor som pozeral zopár minút než som sa vôbec dostal k testu.
Test verdict: "Noctua priniesla opäť skvelé produkty, ktoré nájdu svoje uplatnenie u veľa nadšencov do chladenia. Ak sa Vám zdá cena Noctua ventilátorov vysoká, môžem Vám s kľudom povedať, že za svoje peniaze dostanete top kvalitu a len málo ventilátorov sa vyrovná tomuto výrobcovi. Plus odo mňa dostáva Noctua za svoje ventilátory – 200mm, 120mm Slim a 40mm ventilátory, ktoré vynikajú pomerom výkon vs. hluk. Najväčší 200mm ventilátor si však zaslúži extra pozornosť, pretože vyčnieva nad hociktorý iný ventilátor, ktorý som doteraz videl a mal možnosť testovať. Na všetky ventilátory dostanete záruku 6 rokov. Regulátor NA-FC1 si pravdepodobne nenájde uplatnenie u bežných používateľov." (Lukáš Lancz, pc.sk)
10.07.2017 // PC Ekspert
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Veliki NF-A20 i u PWM i U FLX verziji košta oko 33 € što je korektna cijena za veličinu ventilatora, svu opremu koju donosi i na kraju krajeva vrlo dobre performanse uz ne previsoku buku. Kvaliteta izrade je visoka, materijali odlični a tehnologije jamče dugovječnost – kao i šest godišnje jamstvo uostalom. NF-A12x15 su po cijeni od 24 € pogodni za ugradnju u skučenija HTPC kućišta i na manje hladnjake, a obavezno ih se treba malo usporiti jer su na visokim okretajima čujniji. “Propuh” koji stvaraju je vrlo dobar i na nižim okretajima. A4x20 je u svim verzijama oko 20 €. Visoka je to cijena za 40-milimetarske ventilatore, no zbog kvalitete izrade, jamstva i ponajprije velike kompatibilnosti i mogućnosti prilagodbe isplati se platiti i tako visoki iznos. Ventilatori jesu bučniji pri visokim okretajima, no za kakav komad mrežne opreme koji je u ormaru to i nije bitno, a koncentrirana je zračna struja visoka i moćna. NA-SAV3 i SAV4 su po 11.50 € za što kupac dobiva kvalitetu, kompatibilnost s velikim brojem ventilatora i 16 komada nosača za po četiri ventilatora. NA-FC1 je svestran i kvalitetan kontroler za do tri ventilatora koji je moguće napajati direktno iz SATA Power konektora, pa može kontrolirati i jače ventilatore, no nije jeftin – 15 €. I za kraj, NA-SAC5 adapter koji može biti iznimno koristan za jače ventilatore koji se direktno napajaju iz SATA Power konektora i tako ne opterećuju ploču. Negativna je jedino cijena od oko 8 €.
Test verdict: "Noctua koristi svoju veliku ekspertizu u izradi sve boljih ventilatora iz godine u godinu. Novosti za ovu su tri varijante koje smo u ovom članku pokazali i svaka je od njih posebna, a to uključuje i sve izvedenice pojedinih ventilatora. [...] Svi Noctuini proizvodi su kao uvijek korisni i zaslužuju visoke preporuke, a jedino što ima zapravo možemo zamjeriti je nešto viša cijena za naše hrvatske (prazne) džepove." (Krešimir Matanović, PC Ekspert)
02.07.2017 // Freeocen.de
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Das äußerst umfangreiche und hochqualitative Angebot von Noctua lässt jedes Herz höherschlagen. Durch die Anforderungen auf industrieller Ebene kann der Benutzer immer sicher sein, ein sehr ausgereiftes und langlebiges Produkt zu besitzen. Das bestätigen unsere Tests und auch die Anwendungsvielfalt.
Test verdict: "Die Resonanz der Kunden lässt keine Zweifel daran, dass auch die A-Serie wieder ein voller Erfolg ist." (Louis Spieckerhoff, Freeocen.de)
30.06.2017 // OCClub.ru
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Рассмотренные новинки Noctua – это то, чего многие ждали. Можно сказать это “празднество размеров”. Конечно, это не мейстрим-модели, и врядли получат широкое распространение, но они рынку были очень нужны. Да этого момента на рынке не было качественных 200 мм моделей вентиляторов, не было тонких 120 мм моделей. Новые Noctua A-серии – модели фактически уникальные, и их, по сути, даже сравнивать не с чем. Нет в этой нише конкурентов. Пока. Тестирование вентиляторов – дело совсем неблагодарное, и крайне требовательное оснастке. Особенно все это важно при рассмотрении вентиляторов, у которых заявленный уровень шума 24 дБА и ниже. При столь низком уровне шума шумометр работает плохо. Просто не улавливает разницы. Именно поэтому данный материал скорее не полноценный обзор, а ознакомление.
Test verdict: "Главное достоинство вентиляторов Noctua A-серии – уникальные размеры. За это можно простить все. Хотя и прощать то здесь нечего. Раздел “минусы” на этот раз пустой. Здесь все классно." (Oleg Ubeiko, OCClub.ru)
26.06.2017 // modding.fr
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

La finition est toujours du niveau Noctua, donc excellente. On parle bien de finition et non de couleur qui est un argument totalement subjectif… On retrouve tous les atouts qui font du ventilateur de la série NF-A un excellent ventilateur. Une construction faite pour durer tout en maîtrisant le niveau sonore et les performances (la garantie est portée à 6 ans). Certes la pression statique n’est pas des plus élevée, mais ce n’est pas ce que l’on demande à un ventilateur de 200 mm vu qu’il ne sera pas associé à un radiateur Aircooling ou Watercooling. Nous allons plutôt le juger sur son débit d’air qu’il est capable d’engendrer : 146.9 m3/h ! Seules les versions IndustrialPPC font mieux mais engendrent une forte augmentation du niveau sonore.
Test verdict: "Avec le NF-A20, le bruit est géré à plusieurs niveaux et le résultat est tout aussi agréable pour nos oreilles." (Bertrand Curras, modding.fr)
18.06.2017 // TechUniverse.it
test.gif

NF-A20 PWM Review

Se acquisterete una ventola Noctua NF-A20 PWM, vi accorgerete dopo poco tempo che la spesa ne è valsa la pena. Una ventola di fascia alta eccellente in ogni aspetto. Un capolavoro di ingegneria con un grande arsenale di tecnologie, superba qualità costruttiva, prestazioni e prezzo piuttosto basso se teniamo conto di tutto ciò. Se avete abbastanza spazio nel vostro case per ospitare una ventola di queste dimensioni, di sicuro non potete lasciarvi scappare un prodotto di altissima qualità come la NF-A20 PWM di Noctua.
Test verdict: "Se avete bisogno di una ventola per il vostro PC da 200mm ad alte prestazioni, di ottima qualità e realizzate per durare nel tempo, la ventola Noctua NF-A20 PWM è davvero molto consigliata." (TechUniverse.it)

Installation Manual (PDF)

Information Sheet (PDF)

What pin configuration do Noctua 12V fans use?

All Noctua fans feature the standard pin-configurations set out in the Intel and AMD specifications. These standard pin-configurations are used on most mainboards and fan controllers today:

pin configuration

How should I clean my Noctua fan?

Fans inside computer cases tend to accumulate dust over longer periods of usage. In order to maintain maximum performance, please clean your fans regularly using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please do not use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan and do not put the fan under running water as water residues inside the motor may lead to short circuits.
In order to ensure flawless operation over many years of usage, Noctua’s premium grade SSO bearings are fully sealed to prevent the entering of fine dust particles. Please note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty.

Can I disassemble my fan for cleaning (or other purposes, e.g. painting)?

In order to ensure flawless operation over many years of usage, all Noctua fans come with a premium grade SSO bearing, which is fully sealed to prevent the entering of fine dust particles. Please note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty.

It is thus recommended to clean your fans using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please don’t use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan.

Can I run 4-pin PWM fans on 3-pin fan headers?

PWM fans come with a 4-pin connectors for fully automatic speed control via your mainboard’s 4-pin PWM fan headers. Please note that 4-pin fans can also be connected to your mainboard’s 3-pin fan headers though. When connected to 3-pin fan headers, the fan will run at full speed (unless the mainboard supports voltage based speed control).

How can I check if my 4-pin fan header supports PWM?

Some mainboards feature 4-pin fan headers that actually don‘t use a PWM signal on Pin 4 to control the fan speed but rather reduce the voltage on Pin 2 (like a standard 3-pin fan header). As the fan speed at minimum voltage is usually higher than the speed at 20% PWM duty cycle, the fan can not reach as low minimum speeds under voltage control as under PWM control. Please refer to your mainboard manual to check whether or not your mainboard has 4-pin fan headers that control the fan speed by reducing voltage on Pin 2 rather than by changing the PWM duty cycle on Pin 4:

4 pin fan header types

Note that mainboard manufacturers use different terms to indicate that Pin 4 is not being used for PWM control (e.g. “+5V”, “VCC” or “NC”), but if one of these terms is used, you can be sure that the fan header does not support PWM. If Pin 4 is described as “Speed Control” or “PWM” or the like, you can be sure that the fan header supports PWM.

Unfortunately, the description of Pin 2 is not always a clear indication as some manufacturers use terms such as “Fan PWR” or “Power” for both types of fan headers. However, if Pin 2 is described as “Speed Control”, you can also be sure that the fan header does not support PWM based speed control. If Pin 2 is described as “+12V”, this is a clear indication that the fan header supports PWM.

Please also note that in some cases, the descriptions of the pin layouts in the mainboard manuals may not be correct and some models actually allow you to switch the fan headers from voltage control mode to PWM control mode in the BIOS even though the pin descriptions do not indicate PWM support. We thus recommend to look for these options in the BIOS before taking other measures. In case of doubt, please contact your mainboard manufacturer.


If your mainboard features other 4-pin fan headers that use PWM for speed control, you can run multiple fans from these headers using Y-split cables. Make sure not to exceed the specified maximum power draw of the fan headers (usually 10-12W) though.

Can I use Noctua fans in my system from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands?

Noctua 12V fans comply with the established specifications for standard PC systems issued by Intel and AMD. Systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands often deviate from these specifications e.g. by using proprietary fan headers, custom pin-alignments or pin-configurations, different methods of fan speed control, etc. This can lead to compatibility issues when using Noctua fans in systems from said brands. Some of these problems can be avoided with some technical knowledge, but especially BIOS related issues (e.g. errors or shutdowns due to low fan speed) can often not be resolved. As a result, Noctua does not officially support systems from Acer, Apple, Dell, HP, Lenovo or other major brands.

Can Noctua fans be used to replace noisy stock fans in NAS devices?

Noctua fans such as the 40, 60, 80 or 92mm NF-A series models are ideal for replacing noisy stock fans in NAS devices in order to make them quieter and thousands of users have managed to significantly reduce the noise levels of their NAS units this way. However, while it is easy and straightforward to replace the fans in some cases, it can be very difficult in others, so Noctua strongly recommends that users carefully research if it is possible to easily replace the fan(s) of their NAS device before purchasing a Noctua fan for this purpose. Some of the common issues that can occur when replacing NAS fans are:

  • Different pin assignment: Whereas Noctua fans use the standardised pin assignment for PC fans (see this FAQ for details), some NAS units use different assignments. For example, some devices have the power and GND or rpm and PWM pins swapped. Therefore please carefully verify that your NAS device uses the same pin assignment as standard fans. Experienced users may also change the pin assignment by cutting and resoldering the fan cables, but please note that this will void your Noctua manufacturer’s warranty.
  • Different pin functions: Noctua fans use the standardised pin functions for PC fans (see this FAQ for details); however, some NAS units use fans where certain pins serve a different function. For example, some devices use the RPM pin for “power good” signals. Therefore please carefully verify that your NAS device uses the same pin functions.
  • Firmware speed control: Some NAS devices demand a certain maximum or minimum fan speed. If the new fan doesn’t have the same or similar maximum or minimum speed, the device may display errors or even shut down.
  • Different starting voltage: Most NAS devices use voltage-based speed control. If the new fan has a higher starting voltage than the original fan, it may not start up right away. This may lead the NAS device to display errors or even shut down because it suspects a fan failure.
  • Different power draw: Some NAS devices monitor the fan’s power draw. If the new fan has a lower power consumption than the stock fan, the device might display errors or even shut down.

Please note that most NAS manufacturers don’t provide detailed documentation regarding fan compatibility and control, so users who want to replace the fans of their devices usually have to rely on “How to” guides, blog and forum posts or video tutorials. For example, there are excellent video tutorials available for changing the fans in popular Synology NAS models (DS416j, DS1515+ and DS1812+ in English, DS416/DS415/DS916/DS216/DS214 and DS1515+ in German). Please also note that fan compatibility and control can vary from model to model and even from revision to revision even if the devices stem from the same manufacturer. As a result, it is important to make sure that the information or guidelines you rely on when replacing your NAS fan are applicable to your specific model as well as your specific hardware and firmware revision.

Due to the possible issues listed above, Noctua recommends that only experienced users attempt to replace their NAS fans. Please note that since there are so many different NAS models and most of them lack documentation for aspects such as fan compatibility and control, Noctua customer support cannot assist you with compatibility issues when replacing NAS fans. Please contact your NAS manufacturer for any questions regarding aspects such as the device’s pin alignment or fan monitoring and control.

Can I use Low-Noise Adaptors with y-cables / multiple fans?

Yes, Low-Noise Adaptors (L.N.A.s) can be used with y-cables, but please make sure to use one L.N.A. per fan and to place the L.N.A.s between the y-cable and the fans as shown below. Never use one L.N.A. for two (or more fans) by placing it between the mainboard and the y-cable!

D15S

Which Noctua fan or CPU cooler should I buy? How to choose the right model?

Not sure which Noctua product to buy? Our detailed buying guides for fans and CPU coolers help you to choose the model that works best for you.

Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!