heading

How should I clean my Noctua cooler?

Dust: Fans and heatsinks inside computer cases tend to accumulate dust over longer periods of usage. In order to maintain maximum performance, please clean your fan and heatsink regularly. For cleaning, please first remove the fan from the heatsink and clean it using a duster, slightly moist tissue or canned air. Please be careful not to use too much force in order to prevent any damage to the fan. Please do not use a vacuum cleaner as this may apply excessive force to the fan and do not put the fan under running water as water residues inside the motor may lead to short circuits. Please also note that the fan is not designed to be taken apart by the user. Removing the impeller from the frame will break the sealing of the bearing and results in a loss of warranty. Before reinstalling the fan, clean the heatsink itself with a duster or vacuum cleaner. Do not use water to clean the cooler. Finally put the fan back on and connect it to your motherboard fan header or fan controller.
Thermal paste residues: Whenever you take off the heatsink from the CPU, we recommend to clean the CPU as well as the base of the cooler before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler. You can either just wipe the base and the CPU clean with a dry, lint-free tissue or, for more thorough cleaning, use a lint-free tissue moistened with either a mild solution of washing-up liquid or isopropyl alcohol. Do not put the cooler or CPU under running water. Note that both the base of the heatsink and the CPU should be dry, free from residues of thermal compound and free from grease before re-applying thermal paste and re-installing the cooler.

You specify airflow in m³/h, how can I convert to CFM?

In accordance to the International System of Units (SI system), Noctua specifies volumetric flow rate (airflow) using the SI unit of cubic metres per hour (m³/h). The SI unit can easily be converted to cubic feet per minute (CFM): One m³/h is ~0.589 CFM and one CFM is ~1.699 m³/h. For convenient conversion, online tools such as www.convertunits.com can be used.

Can I register my Noctua product?

Striving for excellence in both product and service quality, we believe that warranty and support should not depend on the customers willingness to provide his data throughout a registration process. We therefore do not offer the possibility to register Noctua products and provide the same 6-year manufacturer’s warranty and the same excellent level of support for all products.

How much torque should be applied when tightening the screws of a Noctua CPU cooler?

All screws should be tightened gently until they stop without using excessive force. Please do not exceed the following values for maximum tightening torque:

Screw typeMax. torque
NM-SSC1 screws for fixing the fastening brackets to the base of the heatsink0.5 Nm
NM-ITS1 thumb screws for fixing Intel mounting bars0.5 Nm
NM-ALS1 screws for fixing AMD mounting bars0.6 Nm
Spring-loaded screws for fixing the heatsink to the mounting bars0.6 Nm

Can I upgrade my existing Noctua cooler to socket TR4 or SP3?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to upgrade existing Noctua heatsinks to support the AMD TR4 and SP3 sockets for Ryzen Threadripper (X399) and Epyc CPUs. TR4/SP3 CPUs have much bigger heatspreaders (as compared to e.g. LGA2066 or AM4 processors) and the contact surfaces of standard Noctua heatsinks would cover only about half of these heatspreaders, which would result in insufficient cooling performance. On top of that, the heatpipes of bigger cooler models like the NH-D15 or NH-D15S would completely block the RAM slots on many TR4/SP3 motherboards. For this reason, Noctua has introduced the new NH-U14S TR4-SP3, NH-U12S TR4-SP3 and NH-U9 TR4-SP3 cooler models that feature bigger contact surfaces and have been tailored to fit TR4 and SP3 systems. Please choose these models for AMD Ryzen Threadripper and Epyc systems.



Do you have a question concerning one of our products? Please use this form to pose a question!

heading

Wie soll ich meinen Noctua Kühler reinigen?

Staub: Auf in Computergehäusen eingesetzten Kühlern und Lüftern sammelt sich nach längerer Zeit oft Staub an. Um die maximale Leistung sicherzustellen, reinigen diese bitte regelmäßig. Nehmen Sie zur Reinigung bitte zunächst den Lüfter vom Kühler ab und säubern Sie ihn mit einem Staubwedel, feuchten Tuch oder Druckluftspray. Seien Sie dabei bitte vorsichtig und wenden Sie nicht zu viel Kraft auf, um eine Beschädigung des Lüfters zu vermeiden. Bitte reinigen Sie den Lüfter nicht mit einem Staubsauger, da dies zu einer exzessiven Belastung führen kann, und halten Sie den Lüfter nicht unter laufendes Wasser, da Wasserrückstände im Motor Kurzschlüsse verursachen könnten. Bitte beachten Sie auch, dass der Lüfter nicht vom Kunden auseinandergenommen werden darf, da das Herausnehmen des Rotors aus dem Rahmen zu einer Zerstörung der Lagerversiegelung führt und einen Garantieverlust nach sich zieht. Bevor Sie den Lüfter wieder am Kühler montieren, säubern Sie bitte den Kühler selbst mit Druckluftspray oder mit einem Staubsauger. Der Kühler darf nicht mit Wasser gereinigt werden. Installieren Sie anschließend den Lüfter wieder am Kühler und stecken Sie ihn am Lüfteranschluss des Mainboards oder einer Lüftersteuerung an.
Rückstände von Wärmeleitpaste: Wenn Sie den Kühler von der CPU abnehmen, empfehlen wir vor einer neuerlichen Installation die Bodenplatte sowie die CPU zu reinigen und frische Wärmeleitpaste aufzubringen. Sie können die Bodenplatte und die CPU entweder mit einem trockenen, fusselfreien Tuch abwischen oder, für eine gründlichere Reinigung, ein mit einer Spülmittellösung oder Reinigungsbenzin befeuchtetes Tuch verwenden. Halten Sie den Kühler nicht unter laufendes Wasser. Beachten Sie weiters, dass die Bodenplatte des Kühlers und die CPU vor dem Aufbringen frischer Wärmeleitpaste und der neuerlichen Montage des Kühlers trocken, fettfrei und frei von Wärmeleitpastenrückständen sein sollten.

Sie spezifizieren Volumenstrom in m³/h, wie kann ich in CFM umrechnen?

Noctua spezifiziert Volumenstrom dem Internationalen Einheitensystem (SI-System) entsprechend in der SI-Einheit Kubikmeter pro Stunde (m³/h). Die SI-Einheit kann einfach in Kubikfuß pro Minute (CFM) umgerechnet werden: Ein m³/h entspricht ca. 0,589 CFM und ein CFM entspricht ca. 1,699 m³/h. Für die bequeme Umrechnung können Online-Tools wie www.convertunits.com verwendet werden.

Kann ich mein Noctua Produkt registrieren?

Wir sind stolz darauf, uns um gleichermaßen exzellente Produkt- und Servicequalität zu bemühen. Garantie- und Servicebedingungen sollten unserer Ansicht nach jedoch nicht von der Bereitschaft des Kunden abhängig sein, im Rahmen eines Registrierungsverfahrens seine Daten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Daher bieten wir keine Möglichkeit zur Registrierung von Noctua Produkten an und gewähren für alle Produkte die gleiche sechsjährige Herstellergarantie sowie das gleiche hervorragende Service.

Mit welchem Drehmoment sollen die Schrauben eines Noctua Kühlers angezogen werden?

Bitte ziehen Sie alle Schrauben vorsichtig bis zum Anschlag an, ohne exzessive Kraft anzuwenden. Überschreiten Sie dabei nicht die folgenden Maximalwerte für das Anzugsdrehmoment:

SchraubentypMax. Anzugsdrehmoment
NM-SSC1 Schrauben zur Befestigung der Montagewinkel am Sockel des Kühlers0,5 Nm
NM-ITS1 Rändelschrauben zur Befestigung der Intel Montagebrücken0,5 Nm
NM-ALS1 Schrauben zur Befestigung der AMD Montagebrücken0,6 Nm
Federschrauben zur Befestigung des Kühlers an den Montagebrücken0,6 Nm

Kann ich meinen bestehenden Noctua Kühler für Sockel TR4 oder SP3 aufrüsten?

Leider können bestehende Noctua Kühler nicht für die AMD Sockel TR4 und SP3 (Ryzen Threadripper (X399) und Epyc) aufgerüstet werden. TR4/SP3 CPUs verfügen über einen deutlich größeren Heatspreader (z.B. im Vergleich zu LGA2066 oder AM4 Prozessoren) und die Kontaktfläche bestehender Noctua Kühler würde nur etwa die Hälfte dieser Heatspreader abdecken, wodurch es zu einer unzureichenden Kühlleistung käme. Überdies würden größere Kühler-Modelle wie der NH-D15 oder NH-D15S auf den meisten TR4/SP3 Mainboards die RAM Slots komplett blockieren. Aus diesem Grund hat Noctua die neuen Modelle NH-U14S TR4-SP3, NH-U12S TR4-SP3 und NH-U9 TR4-SP3 eingeführt, die über eine größere, für TR4 und SP3 Prozessoren maßgeschneiderte Kontaktfläche verfügen. Bitte wählen Sie für AMD Ryzen Threadripper oder Epyc Systeme diese Modelle.



Haben Sie eine Frage zu einem unserer Produkte? Bitte nutzen Sie dieses Formular, um eine Frage zu stellen!