heading

AAO Frame

Our AAO (Advanced Acoustic Optimisation) frames feature integrated anti-vibration pads as well as our proprietary Stepped Inlet Design and Inner Surface Microstructures, both of which further refine the fan’s performance/noise efficiency. Read More

Anti-Stall Knobs

The NF-S12A’s Anti-Stall Knobs reduce flow separation phenomena in medium to high impedance situations and thereby increase the fan’s stall margin. This means that the NF-S12A is even more versatile than its renowned predecessor and can achieve better performance on heatsinks and radiators. Read More

Bevelled Blade Tips

Reducing critical rotor stator interaction, the NF-S12B's and NF-B9's Bevelled Blade Tips permit to combine a higher blade surface area with quieter operation and thus form a cornerstone of the fans' outstanding efficiency. Read More

Custom-designed PWM IC with SCD

Our custom-designed NE-FD1 PWM IC integrates our Smooth Commutation Drive (SCD) technology. By providing smoother torque impulses, SCD suppresses PWM switching noises and thus makes the fan quieter at low speeds. Read More

Flow Acceleration Channels

By speeding up the airflow at the crucial outer blade regions, Flow Acceleration Channels reduce suction side flow separation and thus lead to better efficiency and lower vortex noise. Read More

Focused Flow™ Frame

Designed for pressure demanding applications such as heatsinks and radiators, the Focused Flow™ frame features eleven stator guide vanes that straighten, channel and focus the airflow, which allows the NF-F12 to rival the performance of conventional fans running at much faster speeds. Read More

Inner Surface Microstructures

With the tips of the fan blades ploughing through the boundary layer created by the Inner Surface Microstructures, flow separation from the suction side of the blades is significantly suppressed, which results in reduced blade passing noise and improved airflow and pressure efficiency.  Read More

Metal bearing shell

In order to guarantee the highest possible degree of manufacturing precision, minimum tolerance and excellent long-term stability, our newest 120 and 140mm fans sport a CNC milled bearing shell made entirely from brass. Read More

Smooth Commutation Drive

The latest version of our advanced Smooth Commutation Drive system ensures superb running smoothness by eliminating torque variations and switching noises. This makes our fans remarkably quiet even at very close distances. Read More

SSO-Bearing

Combining the proven concept of hydrodynamic bearing with an additional magnet that supports the self-stabilisation of the rotor axis, our time-tested SSO-Bearing technology has become synonymous with supremely quiet operation and exceptional long-term stability. Read More

SSO2 Bearing

SSO2 is the further optimised second generation of our renowned, time-tested SSO bearing. With SSO2, the rear magnet is placed closer to the axis to provide even better stabilisation, precision and durability. Read More

Stepped Inlet Design

Our Stepped Inlet Design adds turbulence to the influx in order to facilitate the transition from laminar flow to turbulent flow, which reduces tonal intake noise, improves flow attachment and increases suction capacity, especially in space restricted environments. Read More

Vortex-Control Notches

Vortex-Control Notches split up trailing edge vortices and thus spread the fan’s noise emission over a wider range of frequencies. This measure makes the fan sound more pleasant to the human ear. Read More

Designed for superior performance in pressure demanding applications such as heatsinks and radiators, the Focused Flow™ frame features eleven stator guide vanes that straighten, channel and focus the airflow, which allows the NF-F12 to rival the performance of conventional fans running at much faster speeds.


Focused Flow



Focused Flow



The NF-F12’s stator guide vanes are set out in Varying Angular Distance and feature Vortex-Control Notches. Both measures help to spread the noise emission over a broader frequency spectrum and thus make the fan’s sound pattern more agreeable to the human ear.


Varying Angular Distance



Moving over the stator guide vanes, the fan blades create pressure pulses. This type of rotor-stator interaction significantly contributes to the fan’s overall noise emission. With a uniform distribution of the stator vanes, the relative geometrical constellation of the rotor blades and the stator guide vanes is identical each time the rotor moves over the next stator vane. This means that each time a stator vane is passed by a rotor blade, the same pressure pulses are created. Acoustically, these periodic pulses lead to noises at distinct frequencies and manifest themselves as frequency spikes in the fan’s acoustic spectrum, giving it a more tonal and distinguishable character. To avoid this phenomenon, the NF-F12’s stator guide vanes are set out in Varying Angular Distance (between 31° and 37°). Due to this measure, the geometrical situation between the rotor and the stator parts is slightly different each time the rotor moves over the next stator vane, which results in aerodynamically different pressure pulses and hence spreads the noise emission over a broader frequency range. Producing a less tonal and more broadband acoustic profile, the VAD stator guide vanes make the fan more agreeable to the human ear and let it blend into the background noise more easily.


Varying Angular Distance Spectrums



First introduced with the Noctua’s much acclaimed NF-P12 fan, Vortex-Control Notches are an advanced aerodynamic design measure that serves a twofold purpose: Firstly, Vortex-Control Notches make the flows along the suction and the pressure side of the blades or stator guide vanes mix more smoothly at the trailing edge, allowing for less turbulence and velocity loss, which leads to increased efficiency and reduced noise emission.


Vortex Control Notches



Secondly, Vortex-Control Notches also help to make the fan’s acoustic profile more pleasant to the human ear. Due to the Vortex-Control Notches, trailing edge vortices are split up into several smaller vortices, each having slightly different tonal characteristics. This has a similar effect as the Varying Angular Distance of the stator guide vanes insofar as the noise emission is spread over a wider range of frequencies and frequency spikes are reduced. As a result, the fan’s noise pattern is perceived as much less annoying and more agreeable to the human ear.


Vortex Control Notches

heading

AAO Rahmensystem

Unsere AAO (Advandced Acoustic Optimisation) Rahmen verfügen über integrierte Vibrationspuffer sowie einen abgestuften Einlassbereich (Stepped Inlet Design) und eine Mikrostruktur im Innenbereich (Inner Surface Microstructures), die eine noch bessere Performance/Noise-Effizienz ermöglichen. Read More

Anti-Stall Knobs

Die Anti-Stall Knobs des NF-S12A reduzieren Wirbelablösungsphänomene in Situationen mit mittlerem bis hohem Strömungswiderstand und erweitern damit die sogenannte Stall Margin (Strömungsabrissgrenze). Dies macht den NF-S12A noch vielseitiger als seinen Vorgänger und ermöglicht bessere Ergebnisse auf Kühlkörpern und Radiatoren. Read More

Bevelled Blade Tips

Die abgeschrägten Blattspitzen des NF-B9 und NF-S12B reduzieren kritische Rotor-Stator Interaktion und ermöglichen es, eine größere Blattoberfläche mit hervorragender Laufruhe zu kombinieren. Sie tragen so wesentlich zur ausgezeichneten Effizienz der Lüfter bei. Read More

Flow Acceleration Channels

Die Impeller der A-Serie sind saugseitig mit sogenannten Flow Acceleration Channels ausgestattet. Durch die Beschleunigung des Luftstroms in den kritischen äußeren Regionen der Lüfterblätter werden saugseitige Wirbelablösungen verringert, was zu einer höheren Effizienz und einer niedrigeren turbulenzbedingtem Lärmemission führt. Read More

Focused Flow™ Rahmen

Der Focused Flow™ Rahmen des NF-F12 wurde für drucksensitive Anwendungen wie Luftkühler oder Wasserkühlungs-Radiatoren konzipiert und verfügt über elf Statorleitschaufeln, die den Luftstrom gerade richten und fokussieren. So erzielt der NF-F12 Leistungswerte, die konventionelle Lüfter erst bei deutlich höheren Geschwindigkeiten erreichen. Read More

Inner Surface Microstructures

Die Mikrostruktur im Innenbereich des Rahmens (Inner Surface Microstructures) erzeugt eine Grenzschicht, durch die sich die Spitzen der Lüfterblätter bewegen. Dies verringert die Stromablösung von der Saugseite der Blattspitzen, was eine erhebliche Reduktion des Drehtons sowie eine Steigerung der Druck- und Luftstromeffizienz zur Folge hat. Read More

Metall-Lagerschalen

Um ein größtmögliches Maß an Fertigungspräzision, minimale Toleranzen und hervorragende Langzeitstabilität zu garantieren, greifen unsere neuesten 120mm und 140mm Lüfter auf eine CNC gefräste Lagerschale aus Messing zurück. Read More

NE-FD1 PWM IC mit Smooth Commutation Drive Technologie

Unser eigens designter PWM IC integriert die Smooth Commutation Drive (SCD) Technologie, die PWM-Schaltgeräusche minimiert und den Lüfter so bei niedrigen Drehzahlen noch leiser macht. Read More

Smooth Commutation Drive

Die neueste, weiterentwickelte Version unseres SCD-Antriebssystems garantiert durch die Elimination von Drehmomentschwankungen und Switching-Noises hervorragende Laufruhe. Dies macht unsere Lüfter selbst aus nächster Nähe erstaunlich leise. Read More

SSO-Lager

Unser SSO-Bearing kombiniert das bewährte Konzept hydrodynamischer Lagerung mit einem zusätzlichen Magneten, der die Selbststabiliserung der Rotorachse unterstützt. Diese Technologie ist über die Jahre zu einem Synonym für superbe Laufruhe und ausgezeichnete Langzeitstabilität geworden. Read More

SSO2 Lager

SSO2 ist die weiter optimierte zweite Generation unseres bewährten SSO-Lagersystems. Bei SSO2 sitzt der rückseitige Magnet näher an der Lüfterachse und bewirkt so eine noch bessere Stabilisierung, was zu einer weiter verbesserten Präzision und Haltbarkeit führt. Read More

Stepped Inlet Design

Durch den abgestuften Einlassbereich des Stepped Inlet Designs entstehen im Zulauf mehr Turbulenzen. So wird der Übergang von laminarer zu turbulenter Strömung erleichtert, die besser am Rahmen anhaftet (Flow Attachment) und damit insbesondere bei beschränktem Ansaugbereich die Saugkapazität des Lüfters erhöht. Read More

Sterrox® Flüssigkristallpolymer

Noctuas Sterrox® Flüssigkristallpolymer (engl. Liquid Crystal Polymer, LCP) zeichnet sich durch extreme Zugfestigkeit, einen außergewöhnlich niedrigen Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizienten sowie eine hervorragende Dämpfungscharakteristik aus und eignet sich ideal zur Reduktion von Resonanz- und Vibrationsphänomenen in modernen Lüfterblatt-Konstruktionen. Read More

Vortex-Control Notches

Vortex-Control Notches spalten Turbulenzen an der Hinterkante der Lüfterblätter in mehrere Partikularströme auf und verteilen so die Lärmemission des Lüfters über ein breiteres Frequenzspektrum. Dies macht das Laufgeräusch des Lüfters angenehmer für das menschliche Ohr. Read More

Der Focused Flow™ System wurde eigens entwickelt, um bei drucksensitiven Anwendungen wie Kühlkörpern und Radiatoren eine noch bessere Leistung zu erzielen. Die elf Statorleitschaufeln des Focused Flow™ Rahmens bündeln und fokussieren den Luftstrom, so dass der NF-F12 Leistungslevels erzielen kann, die konventionelle Lüfter nur bei deutlich höheren Geschwindigkeiten erreichen.


Focused Flow Airflow



Focused Flow Performance



Die Statorleitschaufeln des NF-F12 sind mit variierendem Winkelabstand (Varying Angular Distance) angeordnet und verfügen über Vortex-Control Notches. Beide Maßnahmen tragen dazu bei, die Geräuschemission über einen breiteren Frequenzbereich zu verteilen, wodurch der Lüfter für das menschliche Ohr weniger störend klingt.


Varying Angular Distance



Die bei der Bewegung der Lüfterblätter über die Statorleitschaufeln entstehenden Druckimpulse tragen wesentlich zur Gesamtschalleistung des Lüfters bei. Mit einer gleichmäßigen Verteilung der Statorleitschaufeln ergäbe sich jedes Mal, wenn sich ein Lüfterblatt über eine Statorleitschaufel bewegt, die gleiche relative geometrische Konstellation zwischen Rotorblätter und Statorleitschaufeln. Demgemäß entstünden bei jeder Bewegung der Rotorblätter über die Statorleitschaufeln identische Druckimpulse. Akustisch betrachtet würden diese periodischen Druckimpulse zu Geräuschemissionen mit distinkten Frequenzen, d.h. zu einem tonalen, leichter bemerkbaren Laufgeräusch führen, was sich im akustischen Spektrum durch höhere Frequenzspitzen niederschlüge. Um dieses Phänomen zu vermeiden, sind die Statorleitschaufeln des NF-F12 ungleichmäßig angeordnet (Varying Angular Distance, der Winkelabstand variiert zwischen 31° und 37°). Durch die ungleichmäßige Anordnung ergibt sich jedes Mal, wenn sich der Rotor über die nächste Statorleitschaufel bewegt, eine unterschiedliche geometrische Situation. Somit entstehen aerodynamisch verschiedene Druckimpulse und die Geräuschemission des Lüfters wird über einen breiteren Frequenzbereich verteilt. Insofern die Statorleitschaufeln mit Varying Angular Distance zu einem breitbandigeren, weniger tonalen Laufgeräusch führen, lassen sie den Lüfter für das menschliche Ohr angenehmer klingen und leichter im Hintergrundlärm untergehen.


Acoustic spectrums



Bei den erstmals mit Noctuas vielfach ausgezeichnetem NF-P12 Lüfter eingeführten Vortex-Control Notches handelt es sich um eine aerodynamische Optimierungsmaßnahme mit zweifacher Funktion: Erstens bewirken die Vortex-Control Notches eine gleichmäßigere Vereinigung der Ströme von Saug- und Druckseite an der Blatthinterkante. So entstehen weniger Turbulenzen und Geschwindigkeitsverluste, was zu einer höheren Effizienz und niedrigerer Geräuschemission führt.


Trailing edge vorticies



Zweitens tragen die Vortex-Control Notches ebenfalls dazu bei, das akustische Profil des Lüfters für das menschliche Ohr angenehmer zu machen. Die Einkerbungen an der Hinterkante der Lüfterblätter bewirken eine Aufspaltung der von ihr abgehenden Verwirbelungen in mehre Partikularströme, die jeweils eine leicht unterschiedliche tonale Charakteristik aufweisen. Dies hat einen ähnlichen Effekt wie die Varying Angular Distance der Statorleitschaufeln, insofern ein breitbandigeres Laufgeräusch erzeugt wird und Frequenzspitzen vermieden werden. Dadurch wird das Lärmprofil des Lüfters als weniger störend wahrgenommen und wirkt für das menschliche Ohr angenehmer.


Smoother joining